AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (568)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    Absolute Scam

    I registered for a free trial of 4 weeks. I entered my details, not suspecting the huge mistake I was making. After attempting to sign up for a course, my free trial was suddenly removed and replaced with a full membership subscription for £49.99. Thats how they get you, they rope you in with the promise of a free trial but BEWARE, once they get your financial details that money is coming out of your account by ANY MEANS POSSIBLE. The whole user interface is designed to cause as much confusion as to what is free and what is NOT, with pop ups that come from nowhere in order to promote accidental clicks. ACCIDENTAL CLICKS/PURCHASES are the bread and butter of this company. I emailed them hoping for a refund but the only replies i received boiled down to "well you agreed to the terms and conditions" and "you entered your details willingly" in an almost mocking tone, despite the fact that I haven't signed up for any classes or used the service whatsoever,The have essentially misled, lied to, and charged me for no reason in these trying times during COVID where people just want to learn new things. Shaw academy is a predator lurking around taking advantage of such people. I don't normally leave reviews but this is stealing for lack of a better term. It is simply put a full on Scam network whose sole purpose is to steal as much money as possible, refunds for them are a no-go, they will mock you when you ask, offering you 6-12 months of their membership, I ask, if said membership was worth anything why offer up to 12 TIMES the value of the requested refund in memberships? Let that sink in. I write this review in the hopes that someone will read this and run as far away as possible, there are a MYRIAD of better options than shaw academy, ANY of them would be a far wiser choice. To all those who have been scammed by this company, we must all band together to effect CHANGE, either through GROUP LITIGATION or AWARENESS SPREADING. If enough of us come forward we can certainly make a dent in this scam network.

    By: Nana Hagan05-08-2020
    Eli13-08-2020

    Total scam. I signed up to the 4 weeks free trial, intending to follow a course. I didn't like the course so 2 days after decided to cancel the subscription to prevent forgetting to do so at the due date and getting ripped with the full membership fee. There is absolutely no way to cancel on the website, you have to call them on the phone. I called and the person I spoke to tried to convince me to remain a member, blahblah-ing about the "FREE trial, any courses you want, NO FEES will be accredited and I WILL UNLOCK THE TOOLKIT FOR FREE for you now". The same day while trying to find out how the course did work, I pressed a button to see an option and the money for the toolkit was immediately taken from my account. I called them again to say I still did not intend to follow the course and the answers were again very vague and they told me they'd extended my free trial for an additional month. Long story short, 4 weeks after they took 50£ away from my account for the next month's membership. I started to email them and they offered me 12 months free subscription , I replied by saying I did not want any membership but just my money back. There is no way they'd do a refund, they will offer you additional months of free membership with alleged free access to all the courses, but no money back. Also worth to mention the incredibly ridiculous amount of texts and emails they send you, and they were calling me every other day from California to remind me to attend the classes. In order to stop them from texting you, you have to text back and this is not a free text either, it comes with a cost that I did only discovered in my phone bills the month after

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    a

    disgusting please away this academy it's totally fake and scam even they doesn't provide any contact detail I already lost my 60$ without attend any class I just signed as a free member and after 3 day they charged

    By: Anonymous05-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    I stupidly signed up for a free trial

    I stupidly signed up for a trial - it wouldn't work at all on my ipad, my samsung phone. I have spent more time contacting support than actually being able to view videos. When I did get to see the videos I only managed a few before I stopped getting these. I was given an extension to my free trial which was due to end September 2020 but they have now charged me £199 and won't give me money back. I have access to a product I can't use on any device I own.

    Plus they have very limited selection of courses and from the few lessons I experienced it is not to the level specified. There is a quick quiz but no interaction other than watching a video. Go to Ed Excel, Coursera or even open university to see what proper online he learning should look like.

    By: ANN 04-08-2020
    Clare V08-08-2020

    If you haven't already, cancel your card and, if you used PayPal, block automatic payments to Shaw Academy. It seems insane that they can get away with this kind of scamming in today's world. Good luck and I hope you'll be able to get a refund - keep pestering them and hopefully it'll work!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    Beyond negative. I understand that this is my individual situation but I would like to communicate it to anyone even considering signing up for Shaw Academy.

    I did a free trial that was the length of 4 weeks. I attempted to cancel my free trial before the end of my four weeks but discovered that the cancellation did not process and I was charged 70 dollars.

    I reached out to customer service requesting the official cancellation and requested a refund because I did not use the product one time besides to sign up initially.

    I was provided the cancellation but was told that I could not have a refund due to their terms and conditions and the free trial expiring. I have never received such service from any other company and never had an issue getting a refund following the end of a free trial, especially for a product I did not use.

    I would not recommend signing up for Shaw Academy. They state that the refund policy is in their terms and conditions but, in my opinion, a company that cares about their consumer would not take their money if the customer did not even use the product.

    By: Dana LoPorto-Kiss30-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Membership Scam

    Absolute SCAM Stay away from the.

    I have personally tried Udemy and other online courses they are fair and decent.

    These people make it almost impossible to cancel your membership. i was on the phone for good one hour to cancel it and RECEIVED CONFIRMATION IN WRITNG. Then what happens? they charged me £49.99 for something I never used as if I never asked to be canceled. when I contacted them they resorted to untrue statements !

    By: Adib Jazireh30-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Online Course

    Shaw Academy is a scam. They offer free trials and make it extremely difficult to cancel during the trial period. They present their courses as if they are live by making you book time slots and doing fake chat interaction, but they are just regular videos. They absolutely bombard you with texts, emails and even automated calls. Also, the course prices or free offers conceal an extra added cost to obtain a certificate of completion. Avoid like the plague.

    By: Greg30-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Sports Nutrition

    DO NOT USE!

    Terrible to use!

    4 weeks free is untrue! The course itself is free for 4 weeks, but you have to buy a toolkit at £40 to even be able to trial it. You have to pay per module plus pay for an e-certificate and hard copy of a certificate both at around £40.

    You HAVE to only do 2 classes a week and nothing unlocks until you have so you will end up being able to do module 1 over 4 weeks but there are 4 modules so the reality is that it'll take 4 months in total to finish the course meaning your pay at least £400 for it all.

    They harass you with marketing emails and if you unsubscribe you don't get any.

    When you are supposed to attend your class after choosing an appropriate time, it doesn't work.

    Moving on from this you then get emails telling you you haven't attended. I received this at least 4 times even though I wrote telling them I had attended.

    Communication is not good.

    I'm disappointed.

    By: CB27-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Membership charged after cancelling free trial

    Shaw Academy is a total scam! Do not sign up for the free trial. They class scheduler stopped working when I tried to speed up my course, which was very slow and not able to be customized. They try to make it take as long as possible to squeeze money out of you. I dropped the class and cancelled my 'free' trial membership. Not surprisingly, weeks later when the trial expired, I was charged for a membership. I say not surprisingly because this company was obviously a scam by then. They make it nearly impossible to cancel, forcing you to go through ten screens, then refusing anyway and making you call and go through another ten recordings. They they charge you anyway. Total Scam. Stay away.

    By: Victoria Coffman27-07-2020
    vanshikasingh1608@gmail.com20-08-2020

    Hey even I singed up for free trial, but I have not given any kind of account detail...neither my e-mail nor my phone no. is linked with any of my bank account. So, am I safe or not??

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Leadership and Management Course

    Do not use this company they have charged my debit card and refuse (despite various emails to them) to provide a refund. Instead they are offering me additional services (for free - well not, as it's the money that they refuse to refund!). Also the course (Leadership and Management was actually an insightful course, however the downloaded material was sub-standard and didn't fully replicate the slides shown in the online classes. Find another, reputable company if you wish to consider acquiring a valid qualification.

    By: Deborah P22-07-2020
    Deborah P22-07-2020

    My response should be 2 not 3 and I WOULD NOT purchase from this company again!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    3
    rating

    Did not purchase

    They’re a fraudulent company. I did the free course and disrupted before the end of the free course and been charge 3 times after that when they advised I did not stop it but I would get 6 month free course, which are bullshit!they also sent me a confirmation email saying it was all set correctly and I would not pay anymore and of course still tracking money out!don’t trust them guys!!hope I had looked at reviews before!!!

    By: Giulia21-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    courses

    Shaw Academy took away my hope now I'm depress stuck at home.
    I was doing the courses to forget about how life sucks now. I just need something to keep my mind busy so I start a course. I was fine and then one issue occur and then another and then I couldn't access my courses any more without any warning. This made me so sad and frustrated that I just gave up on everything I was planning to do. It was a punch that made me back to reality and now I'm depress again.

    By: Flva20-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    money that were taken without my permission

    I am reporting Shaw Academy to ACTION FRAUD and my bank is already investigating Shaw Academy. Do not apply for any certification to Shaw Academy. I haven't even received any email confirming my subscription from Shaw Academy but I was charged for it! My money was taken without my permission. I was trying to call the academy but the automatic voice message was referring to my student ID that I HAVE NEVER received, meaning I wasn't able to make an actual phone call. I was trying multiple times to contact the customer service but no results!

    By: Barbara Postol19-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw Academy - stocks

    They are a disgrace as they call themselves a part of the education system. They are total scamsters. The have all these one click payment buttons by which they will charge you as you try to understand their website. They are making money from this scam and fraudsters 100%.

    Once you write a review they will ask you to email to resolve the issue just to show they want to correct their mistake and care.
    They will not make any adjustments even though the mistake is on their side. It's just a BLUFF.
    They have started this company to scam people and blatantly continue doing it.

    By: AAV17-07-2020
    Antoine 25-07-2020

    digned for trial try to cancel cant and they hit my carD every other day for $70 fraud dont trust it!!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Nothing free about free 30 trial period

    This is a fraud. I signed up for a 30 day free trial on Jun 13. I had until 2nd week of July to cancel at no cost. What do you know?? I cancel on Jun 25 but had already been billed on Jun 23. I have asked for a refund multiple times. 1st I was offer 6 month access free worth $399, I declined so they offer it again, I declined and now they are offering 12 month access worth $699 + a toolkit worth $199 again i decline and now they are ignoring my emails as there is no tel number to call re: refunds. They are willing to offer $800+ worth of access but refuse to refund $79.99

    By: Lidia17-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4
    rating

    No purchase

    Absolute scam.

    Google Theguardian.com/education/2020/jun/13/big-online-l earning-provider-faces-calls-for-refunds-after-com plaints

    This proves every negative review of being robbed by this company is true. AVOID!!;;

    By: Graham Hyslop16-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Course

    They have taken money out of my account on multiple occasions
    I will be getting in touch with my bank to ensure that a legal investigation is going to take place
    I have signed a petition for shaw academy to be investigated for FRAUD
    I have opened a PayPal case against them
    I will be getting in touch will well known, popular media companies to make them aware of what is happening.
    Shaw academy are STEALING from vulnerable people.
    I have proof that they have stolen from me and I will REPORT YOU FOR FRAUD
    Give me a refund RIGHT NOW

    By: AA13-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free 4 weeks online PM foundation training ( FRAUD ALERT)

    Shaw Academy illegally charge from my a/c £140 for the ‘academy membership and toolkit’ that I didn’t purchase. I only enrolled for 4 weeks of free project management training. After sending so many emails to them, I have got an email from Shaw Academy saying that they won’t give my money back and offered me a 12 months of free subscription that I don’t want. They are fraud and I am very upset what they did to me. They are giving me so much stress and it’s effecting my mental health. I want them to give my money back asap otherwise I need to take legal actions against them.
    Tahmina
    Student no. 70706

    By: Tahmina Sultana12-07-2020
    Jo12-07-2020

    I have had the exact same experience and it's very stressful, especially during these financially worrying times. Good luck to you. I am trying the same.

    Anyika21-07-2020

    I just send up for the project management didn't realise it was a scam i am trying to cancel now but they are still saying it will be cancelled after the 4weeks are up i am so worried why are they still being allowed to promote their page on social media

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Nothing

    Negative. They will charge you inadvertently for just tapping on a exit button.

    By: Douglas Stafford11-07-2020
    Rick Elliot11-07-2020

    I had the same experience. They really do suck.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial course

    I'm based in UK but want you to know this is an issue here too
    Just read all negative reviews and add my experience to those. Cancelled within free trial period, still charged. I've since researched and discovered many many more unhappy customers
    They also bombard you with emails daily and try to entice you to upgrade throughout
    Steer clear
    Definitely NOT a reputable company
    On phone to bank now to ensure any further payments blocked

    By: Helen10-07-2020
    Essie11-07-2020

    I was charged for a 'free' trial and i am entitled to me money back. I only clicked on module 2 to see the name of the chapters i didn’t click on to confirm to purchase them it is a scam for charging me like that. Your 'support' phone number has no one to speak to i have recorded everything with proof. Please refund me or else i am escalating a fraud claim on you and reporting you to action fraud, as well as my bank and the authorities. If i dont get my money by next week i will open a petition and report you on all social media platform

    Tahmina12-07-2020

    Kind regards, Tahmina

    Tahmina12-07-2020

    Hi Helen and Essie, Shaw Academy is giving me so much of stress by not giving my money back and pushing me towards taking their course that I don’t want. Please let me know what actions did you take to get your money back and where to report them as a fraud? Tahmina

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Awful 'free trial' scam

    AVOID!
    you have to sign up with payment details for the free trial which is almost impossible to cancel (via phone.) There are one-click purchases all over the site (up to £70.) Now they have your bank details and will charge you whenever you like!

    By: Alice D10-07-2020
    Alice D10-07-2020

    *whenever they like

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ