AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (482)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    subscription

    Very dodgy. I didn't buy anything on their site, but they still tried to charge me for something I didn't buy. Clearly a scam. Completely avoid.

    By: Liam28-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Nutrition course

    SCAM SCAM SCAM
    This Shaw academy is a complete fraud! They bait you into signing up for their free trial, make it practically impossible to unsubscribe from their site and charge your credit card without your authorization. They charged me $69 after I tried to cancel my subscription without successs . Please beware

    By: Oduwa Imafidon28-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    Scam!!! Don't go there! They steal your money and make it impossible to get back, and they keep re-enrolling you, and offering you their bogus certificates! Avoid them! Save your money for real institutions.

    By: Steph28-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial charged

    I fell into the scam n now they are not giving my refund back. I did not get any response from them n they committed fraud.. I didn't get any email on 4week trial expiring n got charged. I cancelled immediately but they r not refunding

    By: Div28-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "Free" Trial - Module Toolkit

    I sign-up for the free trial of Shaw Academy in August 24 to improve my English. In order to finish my profile, I shared my credit card information on the website and while using my phone, an ad for the module toolkit appeared.
    While on the phone, I was careful not to click on purchase and kept looking for the ‘x’ button to close the ad. After I closed the ad, CAD 49.99 was automatically charged on my credit card. There is no way on the website to undo this purchase or delete my credit card information. I called Shaw Academy to get a refund for this, but they said it is not possible to get a refund.
    Even though they offered me other features as an “apology” for the CAD 49.99 charge, I did not and will not accept any other solution other than a full refund for the toolkit I did not wanted to buy in the first place.
    That being said, this company has unethical practices to take advantage of students trying to improve their education.

    By: Valeria Cristina da Silva Santos28-08-2020
    Steph28-08-2020

    Same thing happened to me! It's such a scam!

    Liam28-08-2020

    Exactly the same thing, but I hadn't transferred money into my account so they couldn't take it but they tried.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "Free trial"

    I signed up for their month trial and cancelled after the first week. They charged me for it even though I cancelled before the trial was over. Then they charged me again when someone signed up using my credit card information. I called to tell them that this was fraudulent activity on my credit card account but they charged me anyways. This company not only has low quality classes, but they will charge you even when you cancel before the trial is up and even if it is fraud. I disputed the first charge through my credit card and was able to get it refunded because they did not respond, but they had "proof" I did not cancel the second sign up in time even though I had told them that someone was signed up for their services fraudulently using my credit card. I had to cancel my credit card to prevent anymore unauthorized charges. Don't sign up for any free trial because they will continue to charge you even if you cancel before the trial is over, and apparently they'll charge you even if your credit card information is stolen and used. There classes are low quality and not worth it. That is why I cancelled during the first week.

    By: Cat Lee26-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Photography course which I thought was cancelled

    I'm absolutely disgusted! I signed up for a one off photography course (whuch I cancelled immediately after)and have been charged £49.99 a month for random crap courses I never picked since signing up in March. Do not give ANY payment details.
    Absolutely disgusting, when people are already struggling for money due to a pandemic, this ‘Academy' steals money from people all over the internet. Unbelievable… Im going to start writing my bad reviews now on every other website and continue to do so until i receive at least half of my money back, which I am sure I won't Companies like this make me sick, some person at the top is making a lot of money from scamming people and doesnt care about others, their minions have to suffer the consequences and deal with all the angry customers, I wouldn't want to be working for such an unethical company at all..
    To Unsubscribe takes forever and when you finally get to listen to the ridiculous automated voice recording you have to listen to the same spiel over and over about giving up on yourself! I hope this company goes bust and soon! You need to reach the end of the unsubsribe to get your code and then dial the number.. Its more frustrating than anything, listening to that woman's boring voice telling you ur a loser.. At least Im not a thief

    By: Sophia Edwards26-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Excel Course

    I got unknowingly charged for £49.99 without consent.
    After raising this with the 'refunds' department they sent me some rubbish about unable to refund. Looks like i'll say goodbye to that money. What a waste. Avoid at all costs.

    By: Chris Pollard26-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Social Media Marketing Course

    I signed up for the 30 day trial offered during Covid and had to provide my credit card number. The terms said that I could cancel within 30 days without being charged. The information in my course can easily be found for free on Google. The number of emails and text messages every day is unreal and super annoying.
    Why did I have to schedule dates and times if everything was pre-recorded anyway?
    Also, they want to charge you extra for obtaining a certificate once your course is completed as well as for course materials. That is unheard of in the education field.
    I ended up trying to cancel at about 28 days. This was on a Saturday. I received a response online that the office was closed until the next business day. I tried again on Monday. By this time they had already charged my credit card CDN $69.99.
    I emailed them and the response was that they could not do anything to refund the fee that they had charged. This is a terrible way to hurt people, especially during this time of Covid, where many of us have lost their jobs and money is tight.
    This is definitely a scam.
    I will be leaving negative reviews everywhere possible as well as reporting to the BBB.

    By: Saj26-08-2020
    Heyoo 26-08-2020

    Hi, my mom went through the same thing today, I sent an email for her (because her English is still not too good) saying that we want a full refund (they charged her £49.99 and £199,95), then 1 1/2 days later, she was contacted by one of their staff members, my mom couldn’t understand what the lady said, and she said so, so the lady told her that she would send her an email explaining all she was saying. However the email said that my mom agreed for the alternate option to a refund, which included a “Lifetime membership”, a toolkit and the e-certificate as compensation for this. Obviously we wouldn’t settle for this, so I emailed her again saying that my mom never agreed to that, so the lady called us again but this time I could speak to her. She told me that a refund was not encouraged because the membership had been enabled and it could not be undone but after insisting, she said we could get a £100 refund and still have access to that membership, but we still didn’t settle for that. So we said that we either get a full refund or we would contact our bank, and that’s when the lady said that ok, she would process the refund.

    Miz198309-10-2020

    Hi!Same thing happened to me.I am still on free trial and a guy called me,he was difficult to understand,plus im sick the time he called.All I thought was him explaining the benefits,etc.My answers were just OK.After a while,I received an email confirming to me that he charged me an annual subscription of 279 CAD.I emailed right away to cancel,I didnt want it.The nxt day(Monday)I called them to cancel my membership,They said,they will investigate and blah blah.I received again a call saying they will give me lifetime membership and everything but I said No.I threatened them for a dispute and someone called again today ,she said,she'll refund 100 CAD.I did not settle with that amount.So she emailed me details for me to confirm about 100 refund.I replied with NO and I want a full refund or else I will report them.Still waiting for their response,if they dont refund,I will file a dispute with my bank.Ive been dealing with them for 5 days now.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Project Management Course

    Absolute scam - haven't heard one good comment about the company. Took an unauthorised payment of £49.99 from me for a toolkit and they refuse to refund me even though I didn't want the toolkit in the first place and I am no longer enrolled in the course. They get their money by scamming their customers.

    By: Zoe25-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Graphic Design Diploma (free 4 week trial)

    If I could give it 0 stars, I would.

    I have just had £50 stolen from me. The course I was registered on was useless and wasn't benefitting me at all. I cancelled months ago. I received a phonecall saying I had been given two months extra for free. I said I didn't want it but they insisted it was free if I decided to use it, and no extra money would be taken from me.

    I have not even logged into my account since I cancelled my account, yet today I see that the money has been sent to these frauds anyway.

    I'm furious and I can't even get in touch with them. These vultured prey on vulnerable people trying to improve their chances at employment. I have lost everything due to Covid, and I'm scraping by enough as it is. I can't afford to be robbed. I don't know what to do.

    By: Josie21-08-2020
    This is exactly what’s happening to everyone PayPal is also part of them, their is a trend on twitter #ShawAcademyscam22-08-2020

    I have been victim of them too, now they are posting fake 5 star ratings, PayPal is exposing our details to them to withdraw money, they took 50 out of my account too asal I registered and now PayPal says it’s prepay agreement loophole which PayPal themselves aren’t even aware of, this thief company knew it and they are using it to steal money. It’s Irish government supported company it should be black listed they way it’s operating

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Training Course (unwittingly)

    ***Scam!!! Steer well clear***

    Scam! Stay away. Joined a free trial submitting my payment details for 'verification' and got constantly pestered with phone calls. Had an email to download a 'toolkit' I could use with no mention of payments then had a pop up from my PayPal app to say £49.99 had been taken out. Shaw said I couldn't have a refund even though I hadn't downloaded anything. They also proved a lot harder to contact after this payment. Even PayPal weren't very helpful which I found disappointing (assuming because I gave them my details at some point). If this wasn't a scam they would have actual payment confirmation details on the screen and happily refund but they didn't have either therefore they are.

    I have as submitted the same review elsewhere and will be doing so on every review site, social media etc so as many people see it as possible and can also avoid being scammed.

    By: Steve HARTLEY21-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Course


    DON'T SIGN UP TO ANYTHING THEY SAY IS FREE, IT IS NOT!!!! £49 taken within minutes of clicking on Free for 4 weeks advert!!!
    Google their reviews

    By: Sue19-08-2020
    JD20-08-2020

    Same issue for me. Still fighting to get the refund.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Free trial scam

    I signed up for a free trial as advertised. After just one class I cancelled my account as throughout the seminar they kept bombarding me with adverts to spend money with them and I could not concentrate on the educational content.
    As mentioned, I cancelled my account, received an email confirmation of this, then a month later they charged me for the course! I have been trying to get in contact with them for a refund as I cancelled my free trial almost immediately after signing up and they are ignoring me.

    These guys are absolute con artists! Stay away and avoid as they take payments from you without permission!

    By: Stephanie19-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    SCAM SCAM SCAM - NO FREE TRIAL

    Scam Alert - Stay Away
    This company is still holding on to my £49.99 which they took from my credit card without my authorisation. I have exchanged several emails but they are not going to issue a refund. Reported them to my card provider now. Its a big scam guys. stay away from their so-called free trial. It is not true. read all the negative reviews and you'll see it the same story and notice how defensive they are in how quickly they reply to every negative comment. Customer satisfaction is none of their business all they are after is your money.

    By: Cash19-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    FREE TRIAL

    THEY ARE TOTALLY SCAMMERS !!
    THEY WILL STEAL YOU MONEY EVEN WHEN YOU ARE ON FREE TRIAL
    STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY !!

    By: Duy Tran17-08-2020
    Pete Gate19-08-2020

    This is a fraud. The courses sound great but there is no delivery. I cancelled my credit card rather than giving them my money. You can't talk to a robot about a complaint. If you want to learn buy a book

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial | Scam

    This is a bad company. They will take your money without consent. Avoid at all cost unless u are prepared to lose all your money.

    By: CASH17-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Shaw Academy are a scam. They will steal your money. Stay clear.

    Shaw Academy are a scam. Stay clear.

    I signed up for a free 4 weeks trial on July 25th. On August 13th I was charged £199.95.
    This was not authorised and I don't know what the amount covers.
    Long story short, I have emailed Shaw for a refund. I will see how they handle it but I have also reported them to Trading Standards.
    I will also take this opportunity to mention the relentless phone calls, texts and emails trying to sell you certificates (basically pieces of paper) and other 'learning tools'. Up to 10 texts and emails PER DAY. It's bordering on harassment. You have the possibility to text them back to ask them to stop contacting you, which I did at least 12 times, but that's completely ignored. And then you have the phone calls. Some people pretending to be your tutors, waffling on about giving you discounts on products you don't need or asked for. The amount of time the 'tutors' spend on the phone harassing students, makes me wonder when they actually have the time to 'tutor' ??
    I will also report Shaw to Trust Pilot as I really doubt the veracity of the 5 star reviews.

    Looking forward to hearing back from Shaw and getting my refund.

    By: Florence16-08-2020
    Coolaid16-08-2020

    PHONE CALLS doNOt work I tried to call them and cancel, but they use robots. Best option is to call your bank!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial | worst company

    SCAM ALERT | AVOID | STEALS YOUR MONEY | NO REFUND
    This a very terrible company. I registered for 28 days trial only to realise they've charged me £49.99 for some course toolkit which I never authorised. Contacted customer but They've refused to refund my money and instead offered other rubbish course stuff for free. I'm reporting them to my card provider.

    Avoid this company at all costs. All you get is spam calls and emails from them looking for the slightest opportunity to steal your money. If you ever visit them understand that whatever link you click on whether it says "get" "download" "access"anything means "purchase" to them and they'll charge you before you even know of the price. This is a big scam. Avoid.

    By: Bismark16-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Lifetime Membership

    Your Information is NOT Private
    After signing up for the "Lifetime" membership, it signed me into a course that I wasn't interested in, but, since I had lifetime access, I thought there was no harm in taking it. That was until it said there was a toolkit to go with the course for $49.99. I wanted to know what was in the toolkit. I know now, only because it charged me for trying to see what was included!! You have to pay for each segment and it's kit. They claim that it's their "easy" "one-step" payment option. In truth, it's their super easy thieving directly from your account without transparency option. In the end, it would be hundreds of dollars for something useless. I am trying to get a refund, but instead, they are copying me in on complaints from other students about their non-transparent billing activities. Your information with them is NOT private!! They do not answer direct questions. Basically, it's a quick way for them to take continuous money from you with no return on your investment or regard for your personal information!

    By: Kathleen 15-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ