AllReviews

    Reviews Shaw Academy

    Education is one of the most important aspects if our society. Without a proper diploma you will never get a decent job that pays you enough to pay for your house, groceries and other living expenses. But what if you don’t want to visit a physical school What kind of options are left? One of the companies that offers online courses is Shaw Academy. But will their courses result in a valid diploma? Will employers hire you with such a diploma? How does their concept work exactly? And can you rely on help and support from their customer service if you run into some problems? These are things that can best be told by the people that already followed a course on Shaw Academy. Their experiences and opinions can shine a light on Shaw Academy and prepare you for what you are in for when you decide to enrol at Shaw Academy.

    About Shaw Academy

    Shaw Academy is an online academy and educational institute. Their aim is to make personalised education available for everyone. Their focus is on live education. The reason why they have chosen this focus is because they believe it is a interactive, engaging and always evolving. They provide courses in photography. That means you can get a diploma in Photoshop, video, Smartphone photography, Adobe Lightroom and wedding photography. But they also offer courses and diplomas in finance. Examples of these diplomas include household budgeting, ultimate traders programme and trading & investing. Their health & fitness course contains diplomas like ultimate weight loss programme,sports & exercise nutrition and ultimate body transformation. If you follow their marketing course you can choose for diplomas like social media marketing, digital marketing and content marketing. Their technology course is subdivided into diplomas like graphic design, mobile app development, web development etc. If you follow their beauty course you can choose for either a diploma in personal beauty or an advanced diploma in personal beauty. They also have a music course in which you can strive for diplomas in music, ultimate guitar and guitar basics. Their business course is subdivided into ultimate career accelerator, career advancement, leadership & management, business success and entrepreneurship. And, last but not least, their language course can result in a diploma English for beginners. And most of their courses also have an advances component for if you want to educate yourself further.


    A Shaw Academy review. Do you agree with what he says?

    Services of Shaw Academy

    If you run into any trouble, you can contact their customer service via their online complaint form.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Shaw Academy

    Are you already in possession of a diploma from Shaw Academy? Even if you have followed a course but failed at the last moment, we would like to know about your experience. What did you think of the course material? And was their customer service able to help you when you got stuck somewhere down the learning process? Add your own customer review here on AllReviews to inform everyone on your opinion on Shaw Academy. That way, you can prepare potential customers of Shaw Academy for what leaning at Shaw Academy entail

    How does learning at Shaw Academy work? Read customer reviews about their courses in finance, music, beauty, marketing and more.

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (236)

    2.2
    100% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.4
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    excel

    Please do not get involved in this site/company. They will harras you sending direct text messages and whatss app constantly. i do not know how they get away with it and have never experienced nothing like it.

    By: Terence Gornell29-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Service Support

    good

    By: Scott12-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    App development course

    The course was great, the teacher was great. However, the company sucks. I have not been able to find a contact number to call in regards to being charged without my authorization. I was charged 8 months AFTER my course for $60/month. Have submitted a dispute with my credit card, as I did not agree to these charges

    By: Melody28-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Looting by free trial

    Extremely disappointed
    STAY AWAY from this fraud
    They charge you in the name of free trila nd u r not even aware.
    Fraud in the name of providing education, what a shame!!!
    They have charged me £49.99 and 0.30 without me being aware of it at all.
    When contacted them it was of no help at all so I'm going to contact my bank for legal proceedings

    By: A M28-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Unauthorized Charge

    They charged me for something without my authorization. On October 25th, Shaw charged me $45.99 without my consent. When I first filed a complaint I was told it was my monthly fee. This was a lie as my monthly fee is $34.99 and was already charged on October 7th. The second time someone contacted me they told me I was charged for something that I was told in an email I would get for free. It was supposedly for an e-certificate however I had NEVER purchased an e-certificate before which they could see from my history. I got an email I would receive a free certificate if I attended my first class in a new course I signed up for. I attended it and was charged anyways. I tried to attend the class on my phone browser then their app, both of which had issues and I had to click to close some pop-ups that were blank. The rep said that what I actually clicked was a purchase for the certificate. The rep argued that I clicked the button to pay for it - why would I pay for something that they emailed I would get for free? How can I knowingly purchase something if the pop-up was blank due to their own technical errors? Then the rep tried to say it was because I didn't finish the first class - however, I did and I have a witness who saw me watch the entire video and fill out the "based on this lesson, how likely would you be to recommend Shaw to a friend" survey. The company still refuses to give me a refund. This is COMPLETELY unacceptable business practice.

    By: Chelle27-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial -costs $279

    Shaw Academy charged me $279 for a free trial (during the free trial). They do not answer emails or give anything in writing. It's a big scam.

    By: Tahira Ismail27-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Scammed into buying a course

    Absolute scam! They charged me for the course I didn't even choose, then claims that I opened the module with that money and I have to study it and refuses to refund me, even though I never wanted to have that course in the first place. I'm going to fight for the money they stole from me.

    By: Ugnė Bulotaitė26-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial leading in to a headache

    This company is a total sham. I did a free trial and this was the worst thing that I had ever done. On familiarisation of the account and dashboard, there was a topic to cover and it had a one time click on this to get the content, this in which I did only to be charged twice at £49.95 within five mins of each other.

    I complained about this as it was then to incur bank charges as I could not spare money coming out of the account and was told it was none refundable. They then offered a six month plan with all courses and certifications included. This is not what I wanted and the course content was poor to say the least and very generic. I knew already in what the course was saying.

    I was even offered course work to be done for me so I still get a qualification that means nothing. Total sham.

    During lockdown I had multiple calls from Shaw, trying to up sell. I stated there service was shocking, not interested in the courses, etc. I was offered more things. This is not what I wanted. I wanted a full refund. I was then getting multiple phone calls a day where I then had to block as I said I was not interested in anything else with the company and wanted everything cancelling.

    Today, I have had further money taken out my account and I have costs coming out my account tomorrow which now will not be covered. I logged in to the account, guess what, my account is still showing as active despite stating I was not continuing.

    Another complaint gone in again, another request for a refund and have now given seven days to refund the money.

    Stay well clear, the courses hold no recognisable weight in the industry or learning. It has misleading pricing and charges payments to your account that has no fees associated with. The customer service is appalling and are more interested in up selling and getting more money from people than actually dealing with issues.

    They are fraudulently taking peoples money and do not accept that they are. Full 100% scam, through and through.

    Please do not even consider getting involved in this company. I have had disagreements with them for over six months now and this is not good enough.

    By: Christopher Brown25-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Robbed by "free trial"

    If you've been scammed, the only way to get your money back is to share your story. Post your experience on twitter and tag @BBCwatchdog and @shawacademy.

    They don't want people to find out what they do so they'll quickly refund you to shut you up. We need to petition the BBC to investigate them so they can be shut down for good!

    By: Screw Shaw 25-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    FRAUD!!!

    It seems people read the reviews after they have gotten scammed, rather than before. Unfortunately, I was not an exception.
    Yesterday I was charged by SA straight after I had signed up for 4 week trial, both for the allegedly 'free trial' and the course material which I did not buy.
    Due to SA refused to refund the funds, I have no choice but to report them as a fraudulent company.
    It would be best for these scammers to start their own courses as they might come in handy when looking for a new job.

    By: Olga R24-10-2020
    Screw Shaw 25-10-2020

    Do not give up. Keep bombarding them with emails asking for a refund and involve your bank if possible. I got my money back in 2 days, after sending 15 emails all saying the same thing.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Toolkit and Membership that I never agreed to

    I signed up for a free four week trial with them and later on discovered that they are a complete fraud! Upon registration, they already requested the credit card information though they promise no charge will be made if cancelled within 4 weeks, which is what I'm intended to do. But on the night of registering for the trial, I was charged $40 to a tool kit that I was never agreed to. So I emailed them for a refund, but only to get a response saying the tool kit is activated right away to it's not available for refund. However up till this day, I still have not received all the information that they claimed to provide in this tool kit nor any refund. Secondly, during the middle of the second trial week, my account was charged another $99 for a three month membership without my consent or knowledge at all. All I got that day was only a call from them saying they are providing some free materials for the course. No one mentioned anything about membership and I did not agree to any of the charges. So I contacted the customer services again and everything else I got was auto replies with only one that says they are unable to process a refund, but they could provide another period of free course. I directly and clearly informed them that I do not wish to use your website at all and just give me the refunds for both charges and cancel my account. They have not contacted me back ever since.

    WORST BUSINESS EVER! STAY AWAY FROM IT!!!!

    By: Sally23-10-2020
    Screw Shaw 25-10-2020

    Post your experience on twitter and tag @BBCwatchdog and @shawacademy. Only way to get your money money back is to expose them. They only win if people give up so that's what they want you to do. Do not give in, it's hard earned your money!!

    Ronald25-10-2020

    I am in the US. I have been also duped by their fraudulent practices.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "tool kit" "free course"

    Shaw Academy is a FRAUD and a SCAM
    They literally stole money from me and many other customers. The courses are also really bad and they will SPAM you with calls and messages and when you are on their website they will TRICK you to purchase a course or tool. DO NOT subscribe to them in any WAY.
    I WILL leave a bad review every day if I must to get my money back and to guarantee that no one will EVER be scammed by them again.

    ShawAcademy if you read this: your email support team DOES NOT HELP and I WILL use LEGAL ACTION against you if I don't get my money back

    By: Cosima Scherr23-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    None

    Scam Alert!!! Steer clear....
    I have been cheated off from my money in the name of education by Shaw Academy. I don't understand how pathetic a situation a company might be in order to stoop to this level of cheating their customers.
    I am absolutley sure I haven't clicked anywhere which made me obliged to purchase their toolkit when I opted for their free trial. It's clearly mentioned in their website that £49.99 will be deducted from the account only after the 4 week trial period.
    Signing up was all fine, bit then they started asking payment details which I found quite odd for a free trial but they explained their side by saying it was to check the authenticity of the client, which at that point of time sounded reasonable. But that relief of mine was short lived when I received 2 receipts (£0.30 and £49.99) both of which I haven't authorised.
    I immediately cancelled the free trial and received an indication from PayPal that no further payments will be issued to Shaw Academy.
    I have raised the issue with their support team as well as their billings team. The support team responded by saying that I had accidentally purchased the toolkit (which is not true) and offered me 3 month extension of free trial and made it sound like it was a favour they were doing to me.
    I wasn't ready to fall.for their gimmicks once again and have sternly demanded a refund.

    By: R Mathew23-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw Academy premium

    Utterly unsatisfied and cheated. I started my subscription, took two or three classes and never took another. After having paid for some months without using it, which is no doubt what they rely on for turnover, I cancelled my subscription. I received a call from an agent who convinced me to carry on and have another month free of charge. I specifically asked what would happen when the month was finished, she said that I would be contacted by accounts to find out if I want to continue. That obviously didn’t happen and the next month was charged. She also ’very kindly’ said that I should approach accounts for a refund for the months I paid when I didn’t utilise the studies, which I didn’t do because I knew it would be a lost cause to even try. When the next month was charged, I cancelled my subscription over the phone, I called the number that was recommended for cancellation and of course, there was nobody available to help so I went the route of cancelling it with a robot, I went through the entire rigmarole to the very end and was reassured by this ‘robot’ that the subscription was cancelled. I was incensed at the time so I made sure of the cancellation. I was not charged the following month but low and behold, I was charged the following month. On laying my complaint and demanding a refund for the last two charges, I was told that a refund was not possible because I had accessed the account to use the study materials. I DID NOT DO THAT. THE ONLY REASON I ACCESSED MY ACCOUNT WAS TO CANCEL IT. I have been offered a lifetime access to every single course in lieu of the refund, I wonder why that is??? Because you know you have stolen my money from me!!! SO F*%K YOU. The end

    By: Richard Allsop22-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ