AllReviews

    Reviews Shaw Academy

    Education is one of the most important aspects if our society. Without a proper diploma you will never get a decent job that pays you enough to pay for your house, groceries and other living expenses. But what if you don’t want to visit a physical school What kind of options are left? One of the companies that offers online courses is Shaw Academy. But will their courses result in a valid diploma? Will employers hire you with such a diploma? How does their concept work exactly? And can you rely on help and support from their customer service if you run into some problems? These are things that can best be told by the people that already followed a course on Shaw Academy. Their experiences and opinions can shine a light on Shaw Academy and prepare you for what you are in for when you decide to enrol at Shaw Academy.

    About Shaw Academy

    Shaw Academy is an online academy and educational institute. Their aim is to make personalised education available for everyone. Their focus is on live education. The reason why they have chosen this focus is because they believe it is a interactive, engaging and always evolving. They provide courses in photography. That means you can get a diploma in Photoshop, video, Smartphone photography, Adobe Lightroom and wedding photography. But they also offer courses and diplomas in finance. Examples of these diplomas include household budgeting, ultimate traders programme and trading & investing. Their health & fitness course contains diplomas like ultimate weight loss programme,sports & exercise nutrition and ultimate body transformation. If you follow their marketing course you can choose for diplomas like social media marketing, digital marketing and content marketing. Their technology course is subdivided into diplomas like graphic design, mobile app development, web development etc. If you follow their beauty course you can choose for either a diploma in personal beauty or an advanced diploma in personal beauty. They also have a music course in which you can strive for diplomas in music, ultimate guitar and guitar basics. Their business course is subdivided into ultimate career accelerator, career advancement, leadership & management, business success and entrepreneurship. And, last but not least, their language course can result in a diploma English for beginners. And most of their courses also have an advances component for if you want to educate yourself further.


    A Shaw Academy review. Do you agree with what he says?

    Services of Shaw Academy

    If you run into any trouble, you can contact their customer service via their online complaint form.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Shaw Academy

    Are you already in possession of a diploma from Shaw Academy? Even if you have followed a course but failed at the last moment, we would like to know about your experience. What did you think of the course material? And was their customer service able to help you when you got stuck somewhere down the learning process? Add your own customer review here on AllReviews to inform everyone on your opinion on Shaw Academy. That way, you can prepare potential customers of Shaw Academy for what leaning at Shaw Academy entail

    How does learning at Shaw Academy work? Read customer reviews about their courses in finance, music, beauty, marketing and more.

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (122)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.6
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    Trail and was Charged

    I saw ad on facebook checked out shawacademy and registered my trail account and had to add my bank card to register. I looked at one lesson and decided it wasnt for me. I tried to cancel but the cancellation procedure is overly complicated, I feels its designed that way. I thought I cancelled and forgot about it. Then the next month came and got charged today. I really hope this isnt predatory marketing, I requested a refund. Will wait and see. From the get go this sounded dodge and now I am in shock. I haven't been paid in months in this epidemic and now they just take my money after viewing a short part of one video. This is not right.

    By: Ruan Pienaar09-08-2020
    Andrea Bolding10-08-2020

    cannot cancel - all routes come to an error recording can't change my payment type stay away,

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    4-week free trial

    Shaw Academy is a scam.
    Its courses are not accredited like it claims. No institution would recognise them. Most of the courses are simply video recordings from five years ago and most of the 'instructors' don't work there anymore. Shaw Academy have designed their interface to trick you into purchasing more from them (their infamous toolkits, for example) with one-click. You cannot cancel your membership without persistently harassing its staff (who are treated very poorly by the company). And even if you manage to cancel your membership, that won't stop them from charging your account. You have to cancel your card or block automatic payments on PayPal (if you used PayPal, cancel your card too; Shaw Academy have managed to charge people even if they've blocked payments). Of the thousands of people Shaw Academy have scammed, only a handful of people have ever got refunds.
    I was lucky enough to have been warned to take these measures before Shaw Academy started charging me, and I hope anyone who reads this will stay away from that company.
    If you're interested, Shaw Academy are swimming in debt and legal disputes, so I don't imagine they'll be around for too much longer (though it may take a year or two more).

    By: Clare V08-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free 4 week trial

    FRAUDS LIARS, i started the 4 week free trial , which i canceled the same day , when i went back into my paypal account shaw academy took $69.99 from it without my authorization. Their taking advantage of persons in a time like this people are out here struggling to make ends meet.If i dont get back my money i will have no choice but to report them to fraud Action, and take legal action towards them and i have sturdy proof. Currently investigating. I want a refund .I will continue to expose you unless I get my refund petitions are already being made.

    By: natasha walker07-08-2020
    Clare V08-08-2020

    If you haven't already, block any automatic payments from PayPal to Shaw Academy using instructions here: htt ps://www.hostgator.com/help/article/how-to-unsubsc ribe-via-paypal While this should work, some people have reported being charged after doing this, so you should remove all your payment methods from your PayPal and cancel your card as an added precaution. Unfortunately, of the hundreds of people I've heard from who have been scammed by Shaw Academy, only a handful ever got refunded. Shaw Academy blatantly break the law and are in massive debt and legal disputes. Definitely take legal action! They can't be allowed to get away with scamming people like this. Hopefully, with all their debt and problems, they'll be forced to shut down soon. Good luck and best wishes!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    Pretty much all of the reviews about it being a scam I'd have to agree with. I signed up for a 4-week free trial, however, once you're in, they just try to sell you everything. Toolkits, resource guides, certificates, whatever. And they have it set up as a one-click purchase so if you click the button, you're charged. I didn't do any of that. The class on graphic design was way too basic. To complete the whole thing, you have to be a member for 4 months. When I tried to cancel, I had to go through 9 different pages where they keep asking me if I wanted to cancel. When you finally get to the last one, it says you must call to cancel. I managed to escape all of this craziness since by paying with PayPal, they create a billing agreement which I, the customer, am able to cancel at any time. Billing agreement cancelled. Bye Bye Shaw Academy. Oh, btw.... they email you and text you until you're ready to break your phone.

    By: Zak Miller07-08-2020
    Daniel chan 09-08-2020

    How to cancel Shawn academy and is it truth that company is was scam

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Free trial *not the stupid toolkit*

    Do not sign up, I beg of you.

    Complete scam. I clicked on continue to look into my class, and I then found that a *toolkit* was paid for. There was nowhere they said "pay your toolkit now". I have contacted them through email, a number of times, contacted my bank, going through the Financial Ombudsman and Better Business Beauro, because they need to be shut down.

    I had a call from one of their people. I apologised because my rage wasn't at her, but the company. She said that my case would be sent to the billing dept for my refund, and she also gave me 6 months free access, which Ictold her time and time again that I did not want. I also asked for confirmation that this had been sent to the dept. I have not received this.

    I hope they see this, and comply with my demands of a refund of my £39.95 and a total deletion of my account, so they dont take money off me when the "free" trials run out. F*&@ them.

    By: Charlotte Wright06-08-2020
    Clare V08-08-2020

    Just a heads up from someone who was in a similar position to you, they will not delete your account. Don't trust anything they tell you. As soon as your 'free' trial period finishes, they will charge your account regardless of whether you've tried to cancel or not. The only way to get them to stop is to cancel your card or block them on PayPal (if you used PayPal as your method of payment). Of all the hundreds of complaints, discussions, reviews, and more that I've read, only a couple of people ever got refunds. They blatantly break the law and I'm glad you're in contact with the Financial Ombudsman and Better Business Bureau. Shaw Academy should be terminated. It may not be much consolation, but Shaw Academy is in massive debt and is involved in a few notable disputes. They won't last much longer. Good luck and take care!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Three month membership

    My wife and I paid for her Shaw Academy membership knowing that in three months it would renew and she would have to pay a further three months. However, the company makes it as difficult as possible to cancel. The website is very confusing, there is little to no guidance and they charge you on the final day of your three month period for the next three months rather than the next day. Very disappointed that we ended up renewing the membership even though we cancelled on the final day of our original three months. There was absolutely no grace period and from what we have read online, we are not the only ones to have fallen victim to this.

    By: Glenn Hudson06-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Accidental purchase an hour into a free trial

    Accidental press of a wrong button and got charged 49.99 payment screen confirmation nothing refused refund and constant hounding to join up again do not use this company in my opinion scam

    By: Wayne06-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Absolute Scam

    I registered for a free trial of 4 weeks. I entered my details, not suspecting the huge mistake I was making. After attempting to sign up for a course, my free trial was suddenly removed and replaced with a full membership subscription for £49.99. Thats how they get you, they rope you in with the promise of a free trial but BEWARE, once they get your financial details that money is coming out of your account by ANY MEANS POSSIBLE. The whole user interface is designed to cause as much confusion as to what is free and what is NOT, with pop ups that come from nowhere in order to promote accidental clicks. ACCIDENTAL CLICKS/PURCHASES are the bread and butter of this company. I emailed them hoping for a refund but the only replies i received boiled down to "well you agreed to the terms and conditions" and "you entered your details willingly" in an almost mocking tone, despite the fact that I haven't signed up for any classes or used the service whatsoever,The have essentially misled, lied to, and charged me for no reason in these trying times during COVID where people just want to learn new things. Shaw academy is a predator lurking around taking advantage of such people. I don't normally leave reviews but this is stealing for lack of a better term. It is simply put a full on Scam network whose sole purpose is to steal as much money as possible, refunds for them are a no-go, they will mock you when you ask, offering you 6-12 months of their membership, I ask, if said membership was worth anything why offer up to 12 TIMES the value of the requested refund in memberships? Let that sink in. I write this review in the hopes that someone will read this and run as far away as possible, there are a MYRIAD of better options than shaw academy, ANY of them would be a far wiser choice. To all those who have been scammed by this company, we must all band together to effect CHANGE, either through GROUP LITIGATION or AWARENESS SPREADING. If enough of us come forward we can certainly make a dent in this scam network.

    By: Nana Hagan05-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    a

    disgusting please away this academy it's totally fake and scam even they doesn't provide any contact detail I already lost my 60$ without attend any class I just signed as a free member and after 3 day they charged

    By: Anonymous05-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    I stupidly signed up for a free trial

    I stupidly signed up for a trial - it wouldn't work at all on my ipad, my samsung phone. I have spent more time contacting support than actually being able to view videos. When I did get to see the videos I only managed a few before I stopped getting these. I was given an extension to my free trial which was due to end September 2020 but they have now charged me £199 and won't give me money back. I have access to a product I can't use on any device I own.

    Plus they have very limited selection of courses and from the few lessons I experienced it is not to the level specified. There is a quick quiz but no interaction other than watching a video. Go to Ed Excel, Coursera or even open university to see what proper online he learning should look like.

    By: ANN 04-08-2020
    Clare V08-08-2020

    If you haven't already, cancel your card and, if you used PayPal, block automatic payments to Shaw Academy. It seems insane that they can get away with this kind of scamming in today's world. Good luck and I hope you'll be able to get a refund - keep pestering them and hopefully it'll work!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    Beyond negative. I understand that this is my individual situation but I would like to communicate it to anyone even considering signing up for Shaw Academy.

    I did a free trial that was the length of 4 weeks. I attempted to cancel my free trial before the end of my four weeks but discovered that the cancellation did not process and I was charged 70 dollars.

    I reached out to customer service requesting the official cancellation and requested a refund because I did not use the product one time besides to sign up initially.

    I was provided the cancellation but was told that I could not have a refund due to their terms and conditions and the free trial expiring. I have never received such service from any other company and never had an issue getting a refund following the end of a free trial, especially for a product I did not use.

    I would not recommend signing up for Shaw Academy. They state that the refund policy is in their terms and conditions but, in my opinion, a company that cares about their consumer would not take their money if the customer did not even use the product.

    By: Dana LoPorto-Kiss30-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Membership Scam

    Absolute SCAM Stay away from the.

    I have personally tried Udemy and other online courses they are fair and decent.

    These people make it almost impossible to cancel your membership. i was on the phone for good one hour to cancel it and RECEIVED CONFIRMATION IN WRITNG. Then what happens? they charged me £49.99 for something I never used as if I never asked to be canceled. when I contacted them they resorted to untrue statements !

    By: Adib Jazireh30-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Online Course

    Shaw Academy is a scam. They offer free trials and make it extremely difficult to cancel during the trial period. They present their courses as if they are live by making you book time slots and doing fake chat interaction, but they are just regular videos. They absolutely bombard you with texts, emails and even automated calls. Also, the course prices or free offers conceal an extra added cost to obtain a certificate of completion. Avoid like the plague.

    By: Greg30-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ