AllReviews

    Reviews Shaw Academy

    Education is one of the most important aspects if our society. Without a proper diploma you will never get a decent job that pays you enough to pay for your house, groceries and other living expenses. But what if you don’t want to visit a physical school What kind of options are left? One of the companies that offers online courses is Shaw Academy. But will their courses result in a valid diploma? Will employers hire you with such a diploma? How does their concept work exactly? And can you rely on help and support from their customer service if you run into some problems? These are things that can best be told by the people that already followed a course on Shaw Academy. Their experiences and opinions can shine a light on Shaw Academy and prepare you for what you are in for when you decide to enrol at Shaw Academy.

    About Shaw Academy

    Shaw Academy is an online academy and educational institute. Their aim is to make personalised education available for everyone. Their focus is on live education. The reason why they have chosen this focus is because they believe it is a interactive, engaging and always evolving. They provide courses in photography. That means you can get a diploma in Photoshop, video, Smartphone photography, Adobe Lightroom and wedding photography. But they also offer courses and diplomas in finance. Examples of these diplomas include household budgeting, ultimate traders programme and trading & investing. Their health & fitness course contains diplomas like ultimate weight loss programme,sports & exercise nutrition and ultimate body transformation. If you follow their marketing course you can choose for diplomas like social media marketing, digital marketing and content marketing. Their technology course is subdivided into diplomas like graphic design, mobile app development, web development etc. If you follow their beauty course you can choose for either a diploma in personal beauty or an advanced diploma in personal beauty. They also have a music course in which you can strive for diplomas in music, ultimate guitar and guitar basics. Their business course is subdivided into ultimate career accelerator, career advancement, leadership & management, business success and entrepreneurship. And, last but not least, their language course can result in a diploma English for beginners. And most of their courses also have an advances component for if you want to educate yourself further.


    A Shaw Academy review. Do you agree with what he says?

    Services of Shaw Academy

    If you run into any trouble, you can contact their customer service via their online complaint form.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Shaw Academy

    Are you already in possession of a diploma from Shaw Academy? Even if you have followed a course but failed at the last moment, we would like to know about your experience. What did you think of the course material? And was their customer service able to help you when you got stuck somewhere down the learning process? Add your own customer review here on AllReviews to inform everyone on your opinion on Shaw Academy. That way, you can prepare potential customers of Shaw Academy for what leaning at Shaw Academy entail

    How does learning at Shaw Academy work? Read customer reviews about their courses in finance, music, beauty, marketing and more.

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (48)

    2.4
    21% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.8
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.4

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Excel Course

    DO NOT SING UP FOR THIS!

    By: Kayleigh 05-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Excel Course

    DO NOT SING UP FOR THIS!

    By: Kayleigh 05-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    course

    would give 0 stars if i could! DO NOT SIGN UP OR GIVE YOUR BANK DETAILS OVER. THEY WILL SCAM YOU OVER ANG OVER AGAIN AND NOT REFUND YOU. THERE HAVE BEEN OVER 300 PEOPLE ON TWITTER WHO HAVE SHARED THE SAME STORY. GO TO UDEMY OR USE A DIFFERENT ONLINE COURSE WEBSITE. STAY AWAY.

    By: jade 05-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    'Free' Trial

    PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE YOU EVEN CONSIDER A FREE TRIAL WITH THIS COMPANY:

    I signed up for a free trial with the Shaw academy after receiving a free trial link by email. I joined their Diploma of Excel course with my first class booked for 2pm on 31st May 2020. I joined the class platform earlier than 2pm and noticed a link at the bottom of the page mentioning an 'e-certificate'. Wanting to know a little more about it I clicked on this link and without any further confirmation was charged 39.95 pounds. The link did not include the price and although it stated something along the lines of 'one click purchase' I thought that meant that it could be easily purchased after reading further information on its requirements etc. It did not present as a 'buy it now' button but was a highlighted banner of text and appears to have been designed to be deliberately unclear. This is on top of the fact that I was accessing the site as part of a 'free trial' and so one would expect that additional costs would be made much clearer. I believe the link is designed in this way to essentially coerce people into clicking it accidentally. As soon as I realised this had happened and quite upset by having been charged a relatively large amount for a document I had no use for / had not wanted nor authorised, I left the class and ended my free trial so have not accessed this 'e-certificate' in any way nor any classes with this company.

    I then contacted Shaw Academy by email on 31st May and the reply I received back on the 1st June was clearly automated, did not address my refund request at all and instead stated that they had in fact extended my free trial to give me further opportunity to use their service. Extending this without my request or permission but with my payment details clearly still attached to my account. I consider wholly unethical business practice and if you search them on this site, PayPal and instagram you will see that 100s of people have been scammed in this way. The 'ad' for the e-certificate does not from my understanding meet legal standards and I have reported this to the ASA amongst other regulatory bodies.

    In two more emails to the company about my refund request and wanting to receive confirmation that my account has been closed they've offered firstly $199 in online credit for their account and then in their latest email $499! Seems ridiculous to be trying to upsell to a customer who has explicitly requested their account to be closed on 3 occasions and I am still yet to receive any notice that my account has been closed despite these requests and actively ending my free trial one day into it!

    I am really concerned about how this company is trying to capitalise on the covid19 lockdown and take advantage of people attempting to upskill for 'free' during a very difficult period. PLEASE DON'T GET CAUGHT OUT LIKE I DID. This company use coercive one click payment links, that according to further negative reviews on Trust Pilot and Britain Reviews, can pop up at any time and can be easily clicked by accident and they are renowned for making it very difficult to cancel subscriptions leading to people being charged for these despite multiple attempts to close accounts. The reliability of their positive reviews on this very site have also been questioned. Look at the positive reviews and compare them to the negative ones? Which ones seem like actual people and not automated bots?

    Really concerned about the amount of people who will be scammed into essentially unauthorised payments to this company and so if my review can prevent just one of you going through what I have I'll be very pleased with myself.

    By: Stevie 04-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    'Free' Trial

    PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE YOU EVEN CONSIDER A FREE TRIAL WITH THIS COMPANY:

    I signed up for a free trial with the Shaw academy after receiving a free trial link by email. I joined their Diploma of Excel course with my first class booked for 2pm on 31st May 2020. I joined the class platform earlier than 2pm and noticed a link at the bottom of the page mentioning an 'e-certificate'. Wanting to know a little more about it I clicked on this link and without any further confirmation was charged 39.95 pounds. The link did not include the price and although it stated something along the lines of 'one click purchase' I thought that meant that it could be easily purchased after reading further information on its requirements etc. It did not present as a 'buy it now' button but was a highlighted banner of text and appears to have been designed to be deliberately unclear. This is on top of the fact that I was accessing the site as part of a 'free trial' and so one would expect that additional costs would be made much clearer. I believe the link is designed in this way to essentially coerce people into clicking it accidentally. As soon as I realised this had happened and quite upset by having been charged a relatively large amount for a document I had no use for / had not wanted nor authorised, I left the class and ended my free trial so have not accessed this 'e-certificate' in any way nor any classes with this company.

    I then contacted Shaw Academy by email on 31st May and the reply I received back on the 1st June was clearly automated, did not address my refund request at all and instead stated that they had in fact extended my free trial to give me further opportunity to use their service. Extending this without my request or permission but with my payment details clearly still attached to my account. I consider wholly unethical business practice and if you search them on this site, PayPal and instagram you will see that 100s of people have been scammed in this way. The 'ad' for the e-certificate does not from my understanding meet legal standards and I have reported this to the ASA amongst other regulatory bodies.

    In two more emails to the company about my refund request and wanting to receive confirmation that my account has been closed they've offered firstly $199 in online credit for their account and then in their latest email $499! Seems ridiculous to be trying to upsell to a customer who has explicitly requested their account to be closed on 3 occasions and I am still yet to receive any notice that my account has been closed despite these requests and actively ending my free trial one day into it!

    I am really concerned about how this company is trying to capitalise on the covid19 lockdown and take advantage of people attempting to upskill for 'free' during a very difficult period. PLEASE DON'T GET CAUGHT OUT LIKE I DID. This company use coercive one click payment links, that according to further negative reviews on Trust Pilot and Britain Reviews, can pop up at any time and can be easily clicked by accident and they are renowned for making it very difficult to cancel subscriptions leading to people being charged for these despite multiple attempts to close accounts. The reliability of their positive reviews on this very site have also been questioned. Look at the positive reviews and compare them to the negative ones? Which ones seem like actual people and not automated bots?

    Really concerned about the amount of people who will be scammed into essentially unauthorised payments to this company and so if my review can prevent just one of you going through what I have I'll be very pleased with myself.

    By: Stevie 04-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Sports Nutrition Course FREE TRIAL (not...)

    What I wish I'd read before falling for their scam. AVOID SHAW ACADEMY AT ALL COSTS.

    This is a negative 5-star review but unfortunately, there is no option for that. Shaw Academy is a fraudulent, scamming, lying, cheating, disgusting company who will take your money without your consent and lie to you about it.

    I signed up to a free 4-week trial as advertised on Instagram. I did some brief research into the company and after seeing a few friends had used them I thought ok this trial must be legit. NOT. After I signed up to the trial, I saw that in order to actually continue with the course you had to purchase all kinds of crap, which I obviously did not want to do, so opted to cancel it STRAIGHT AWAY. After going through tons of pages to try and cancel it I was eventually given a number to call to cancel.

    I spoke to Lannice on the phone, who offered me all kinds of bs offers worth hundreds of £££ to try and get me to stay, but I managed to get her to confirm she was cancelling it eventually. I received a confirmation email of the cancellation immediately afterwards but ALSO noticed a charge had been taken from my account. I contacted them immediately about this, and they said: "it is clearly stated in the terms and conditions that if you do not cancel within the 4 weeks free trial period you will be charged, and we cannot refund this." AHEM, I cancelled on the SAME day as signing up. When I corrected them on this, they changed their story to "oh, you purchased a certificate which has already been activated on your account so we cannot refund it. But we have activated free extra months of the course for you and a free toolkit! ENJOY."

    EXCUSE ME, I had already asked them to cancel my account, which they had confirmed. Not only did they abuse my request for this, but they went ahead to re-activate a bunch of stuff I had never heard of before, having never actually use the account. They stole from me and had the audacity to lie about it repeatedly. A number of emails later and all I had achieved were a circle of lies and non-answers, so I resorted to filing a formal complaint with BBB against them, but I won't hold my breath.

    STAY AWAY & LETS STOP THEM FROM BEING ABLE TO SCAM PEOPLE EVER AGAIN.

    It's horrifying that in such turbulent times companies are still acting this way.

    By: Lucy 03-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial.

    They havent clarified exactly what the money has been taken for and I doubt they'll bother to itemise the payments and provide proof of purchase. I will be contacting a solicitor who will act on the matter for me. Their conduct in this matter is deplorable at a time when people are struggling financially and I will be contacting all of your friends and influences in social Media to spread the word that their company uses underhand tactics to defraud people.

    By: Loren 02-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Social Media Course

    Avoid at all costs.
    I have signed up for many free trials and free information; I have never felt so harassed.
    After signing up I was prompted to pick my days & times for study, which I did. However, on the first day I missed my slot completely, and the link was unusable. After a lot of fiddling I managed to reschedule the first module for the next day, but not until the following day, when I was unable to access either this one or the second one.
    These actions were all accompanied by multiple emails, contradicting themselves by saying I had missed my course, click here to reschedule, even after I had done so.
    They rang me on a bank holiday to remind me that my course started the following day - and this was after I had blocked the first telephone number they used!
    Disgusted with the level of harassment when I hadn't even managed to access any of the course, I went to cancel my free trial. To do this you are directed to a phone number. No chance I was giving them any more opportunities to waste my time and money, so I found an email address and asked them to cancel. I had to write two further emails to this address before they would do it. First they replied with 'please don't go' and then with 'go to the website to cancel'.
    They finally cancelled my free trial four days ago but I am *still* receiving course reminders, even though I have blocked the email addresses. (This is another point; there is no way to unsubscribe via Outlook, as Shaw Academy have not provided enough information to make this possible!)
    Today I went on the website to remove my details and there is no option to do so. So I have emailed them to say that if they do not remove my details, I will be reporting them for a breach of GDPR.
    I will be checking to make sure they don't take any money though.
    Do NOT have anything to do with Shaw, it just isn't worth the hassle.
    There is no option for 0 stars, so 1 it is.

    By: Fiona Parmanand 02-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Nutritional course

    I signed up to a free course, and after signing up, you get bombarded with emails, several a day, asking you to pay for your certificate at £49, I logged back into my account and cancelled my membership, I also emailed the company to cancel.
    3 weeks later, they have taken the money from my Paypal account and are refusing to refund me.

    By: Susan Jarvis 01-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Did not purchase anything but they made unauthorized charges

    AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

    AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! Created an account to view courses and cancelled but still took out money!!! AVOID THESE SCAMMERS. TAKE AGES TO REPLY AND HAVE A CRAP AUTOMATED SYSTEM. DONT FALL FOR THEIR TRICKS!!!!!!! NOW DEALING WITH BANK TO RECOVER FUNDS

    By: Jamie Lewington 01-06-2020
    Lucy 01-06-2020

    Did you manage to get your money back?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Trial period

    This company steals money. They do not honor the cancellation within the trial period and charge after you have canceled the subscription. When you request refund they try to sell more of their rubbish to you and offer you rediculous discounts. Do not sign up to this school. They are thieves.

    By: Grant 30-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    NO PURCHASE poor quality course

    Extremely poor service.. Cancelled trial subscription 7 days before deadline. Money taken out of my account.. During the cancellation Shaw Ac asks to call 0808 number.. Long winded emotional message.. Unsubscribed. Money taken. Emailed complaint.. Response via email same emotive message as telephone voicemail.. Complained again.. Still haven't heard back
    You have breached contractual agreement
    You are scaming me and others out of money

    By: SAlly Thomas 30-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    3
    rating

    Nutrition Course

    What a complete joke this company are! Do not use them. First I had issues where they'd charged me for something I didn't want. Had weeks of emails (you can't call this company) and eventually managed to get a refund and they offered me ,6 months free membership and all course content. I have been working my way through the course and suddenly it won't let me continue. Been emailing for over a week asking for someone to sort it and not getting anywhere. Just avoid this company!

    By: Emma 29-05-2020
    Lucy 03-06-2020

    How did you manage to get a refund?!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review