AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (568)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    Shaw Academy

    I signed up for an account but gave no credit card. Changed my mind and wanted to stop a month age. I am still getting phone calls and emails from Shaw Academy. They use various phone numbers so they cannot be blocked. The advertising is close to harassment

    By: James15-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    “Free” Online Class

    This is a total scam. They sell the course as free and then charge you for materials to do class. I have repeatedly emailed them and receive no response. DO NOT SIGN UP!!!! Do NOT give payment information. I have still not received a reimbursement.

    By: Melissa Redfern15-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Do not use!!!

    The courses aren't any good. They make it impossible to cancel your free trial, throwing offers up and making you phone. They won't refund if you get charged based on their 'refund policy' which they never show you before agreeing to the free trial.

    By: J14-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    I am experiencing the same issue with the company and wish I had looked into before signing up for a free trial. I called and cancelled my free trial and now 2 months later I have been charged $69.99 and told that they can't refund my money since they said my subscription wasn't cancelled and is active. They won't refund my money and are instead offering me 1 year of classes. I have asked them for a phone number since the only one I can find won't let me speak to anyone without giving my student number, which I can't find anywhere. They won't give me a phone number or my student number. I'm not sure what to do from here to get my money back. I'm going to try going through my bank.

    By: Sarah14-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Trial

    They're ripping people off they say I could sign up for a free trial course and I can cancel at anytime I called and canceled a week after I signed up and they still deducted money from my account when I called them about They're saying they can't do anything about and offering me free classes, I had to call my bank and asked them to deal with. They're conning people

    By: Leighton Dunbar13-03-2021
    David Agboola17-03-2021

    Don't give Shaw academy your credit/debit card details. They're a fraudulent company. Once they have your details for free trial, they'll enrol you for some premium annual subscription without your consent and charge your card for it. I just had to cancel my credit card and processing a refund. Don't fall for their free trial fraud. I usually never leave a negative review; I'd usually just bear my bad experiences but this one touched me. They took all the money I had left.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    28 day free trial *CON TRICK*

    Charged supplied credit card £200 on first day of “free trial”

    Do not enter free trial
    Do not enter credit card

    Only way to get your money back is through your bank; thankfully I used out company credit card!

    See all other con reviews!

    Complain to GDPR if they continue to bombard you with unwanted texts and calls.
    Complain to FB about this scam company’s dodgy practices.

    By: Wayne Davis13-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    Everyday my phone is ringing from unknown numbers, but I didn’t signed up for the subscribtion, just stoped half way registering and that’s enough for them to use your phone number. So annoying, shitty acency!

    By: Simona13-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Lesson on excel

    A big scam.. They r only interested in debiting your card despite not attending classes.. They r Thieves.. I ll charge them to court soon

    By: Adebayo 12-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    $49.99 monthly subscription

    Looks great on the surface but really poor once you sign up. I was interested in a refresher course for a job that I recently applied for and was years since I learnt the field.

    When Googling for an online course I stumbled upon Shaw Academy and was really impressed with the reviews, website and having "scheduled" classes that definitely makes it feel more like a school and helps with planning time to do it.

    I signed up for the free trial as I needed just a refresher and I didn't know how much time I would have as I already work 2 jobs so the trial period was for me to see how much time I could fit this in.

    Ultimately I couldn't commit much time to it, my interview was post-poned and I felt there was no need to continue with the trial so I called customer service and told them I'd like to cancel. The agent was really pushy and not willing to accept no as an answer and promised me that I could freeze my account and I would receive an email on when I was willing to start the membership again. I accepted as I really enjoyed the 2 weeks that I was doing it.

    A month later I was charged $50 by Shaw Academy and when I raised this issue, I received generic jargon from a member of the team referring to their "Company Policy" and using the terms & conditions as an excuse to avoid any responsibility of the person on their call centre lying to me, promising an indefinitely frozen membership and telling me it was in my control for when I wanted to resume just to be charged a month later.

    They told me they can't allow refunds of any nature, even when I was misinformed, so I have requested all my information be deleted as I don't trust them at all to sell my information on. The amount of emails and phone calls from this company is full on, receiving multiple a day.

    TL:DR - They bombard you with e-mails and phone calls and when you try to cancel they will do anything it takes to keep you a member, even lying that your membership is frozen so they can still take money from you.

    By: Rowan Foster11-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Interior designer

    Do not sign for these courses! I signed up for a free trial and when I was about to cancel at the end of the free trial, I realized that it couldn't be cancelled at the weekend! Mind you, it took me a great deal of time to even find where to cancel the subscription and you had to then call a number (who knows how much that is going to cost me as there was no charge information!) In the end, I managed to get through to automated messaging, cancelled, but it was apparently too late!(the last day of the trial??!!)£49.00 later and a phone call with one of the call centre advisor, I gave up, it will teach me a lesson! Overall, the lessons weren't that great, only signed up for 3 hours a week, only to be "bombarded" by endless emails and messages every day of the week! I couldn't access the communication box mentioned in the lessons either, that was supposedly to type any comments to be given help and advice. Not happy! Not worth the hassle!

    By: Katerina 10-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw Academy sewing course

    What an awful company. Wish I had read the reviews before I signed up for the free trial! Phoned to cancel on the day my 28 days was up but was basically harangued into staying for another two months for "free" with the promise of free 'toolkit', whatever that is. Anyway, they still took 50 quid out of my account that same day and then told me I hadn't phoned to cancel! Avoid avoid avoid! I'm off to all the review sites to let as many people as I can to avoid the damn company. Scam artists,

    By: Rachel Faulkner10-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    canceling the subscription

    sooner or later you'll cancel the subscription.
    they're scammers, just make a quick research shaw academy scammers and you'll be surprised how many bad reviews and people got scammed. Avoid them and stay far...

    By: Victor C10-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    They rob you

    This company is a SCAM, they charged me £49.99 when I cancelled the trial on the day. I called, they said they wouldn't offer me a refund as I might have 'accidentally' clicked on something causing this payment I think one would know if you have accidentally clicked on something. Keep Away!

    By: Natalie 08-03-2021
    Federica08-03-2021

    Gimick company tricked me into an unauthorised payment - refusing a refund for the errors on their end. To start off -when starting the course you are bombarded with text messages, emails, notifications and in app bots that keep offering and asking you to spend more money, purchase more subscriptions for every 2 seconds you spend with them. If you ask for help they respond saying you can spend more money to get those answers through another course. And on and on. As time went on it all seemed VERY gimmicky with very basic entry level courses that offered nothing beyond what is already available for free on the internet. Because of this a month in I decided to cancel my subscription and not go through with the so called 'Digital Marketing' course I was doing. Of course they do not make this cancelling process easy. You can only cancel within working hours, and so I did. I went onto the app and cancelled my subscription through there. Following the steps on the app I went ahead and cancelled - however it asked me to call a US number to confirm cancellation. And so I did, I called the number and was greeted by an automated machine which asked me to select a number to get through to confirm my cancellation. I was advised that no one is able to get to me but to confirm my cancelation by pressing a number. The automated machine let me know that my subscription was indeed cancelled and in classic shawacademy style, they asked me If I would like a month free to draw me in to all the lovely gimmicks they can sell to me. I of course refused the offer and confirmed I just simply wanted to cancel my subscription. After the phonecall the app subscription stated it was due to expire and was cancelled - with no future payments - as I intended. So after that tedious process I deleted the app and unsubscribed to all the crazy emails and messages they kept sending. The funny thing - they didn't send any confirmation via email that my subscription was cancelled. The only forms of confirmation I was given were by the automated response on the phonecall as well as the red cancelled subscription on the app. Then I didn't think to record or screen shot any of this. - to those thinking of cancelling I recommend you do record everything and anything. A month and a bit later, my card notifies me that a £49.99 payment was taken by Shaw Academy. As I initially cancelled this you can imagine my surprise. I went onto the website and contacted support letting them know that a payment I have not authorised has been taken from my account. A few days later at 8pm at night I get a phonecall from a US number. Straight away the customer support agent Veon who also claimed to be a manager - and the only person I could possibly talk to about this let me know he was calling regarding my email. Immediately he let me know that he is not able to offer a refund as they do not offer refunds on subscriptions at any cost as 'it is not a product'. I then asked if it is possible to send over the Terms and Conditions that state it is not possible to offer a refund for an unauthorised payment taken from my account. He wasn't able to find this to send via email and laughed at me asking to have this in writing. He then immediately offered 1 year free subscription covering all extra add ons. I said I did not want any subscription as I did not find any value in the course and cancelled it for a reason. I would like a refund for my unauthorised payment. He went on to say this is not at all possible but can no offer me 2 years of free subscriptions and add ons. I went on to ask why they do not have any recording of the phone call I made to cancel my subscription ,or why they conveniently chose to not follow through with courtesy confirming cancellation by email. Though I wasn't aware then and didn't think I'd need email confirmation when I visually saw and heard my account was cancelled, he then used this to his advantage. Veon let me know that as I do not have any proof via email from shaw academy stating the cancellation I cannot get a refund. Convenient for them I thought. Very tactful company that exploits its customers to spend more and more money on things they don't necessary need and then trick them into falling back into payments by not confirming anything via email. Considering the amounts of emails they send to spend more money - it is disgusting how they slyly didn't send any to follow through with a cancellation. An error I couldn't possibly have fixed from my end. So they sent no proof of cancellation, also no email stating the renewal of a subscription - one which would have allowed me to be aware that this was happening without my authorisation. I tried to let the agent know I really wanted the refund back and nothing else from them as it was an unauthorised payment. He kept insisting they do not offer refunds at any cost - and kept throwing the 2 year free subscription in my face. I asked to speak to the legal team & was told Veon is the only person I can go through.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Python Course

    Be very careful of “free” courses, I signed up for a 4 week Python course and got stuck with a £49.99 charge and they would not refund me.

    Once logged in to the course, they do not provide you with all the material needed for the course, there are lots of buttons to click that say things like “more course slides and material here”. But when you click these they automatically charge you.

    I was unaware about this, I’m gutted as I signed up to the course because I wanted to better my life after losing my job and could have done with keeping the money.

    Also the course layout is poor, fixed and just outright confusing!

    There are much better courses to sign up for and also nicer, friendlier and competent companies.

    Just google “Shaw Academy Scam” and see.

    AVOID!

    By: Mr A EDGAR07-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    3 month trail Membership

    SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM !!!!

    By: Ranbir Singh06-03-2021
    Ranbir Singh06-03-2021

    SCAM NON RECEMONDABLE!!!! This company is totally a scam, I bought the trial membership of approx $70.00 on 15 Feb 2021 and at the time of membership, they showed if you cancel the membership before March 11, 2021, you will get a full refund. But when I tried to cancel the membership they called and told me to send an email to prioritysupport@shawacademy.com, then I received the call that I charged 139.95 which is non-refundable. I remembered when I log in it's a trial period now they told me that you bought 3 months membership. I request everyone don't share your account details because they will charge you more once you bought the membership. I request you to get me a full refund because you guys clearly mentioned the trial period is refundable. I suggest everyone not subscribe to this academy you will have to suffer from huge loss. THANKS

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    150

    Scam scam scam avoid !

    They took $200 from me pretending to be PayPal, I don't even have a PayPal account.

    By: Russell05-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Not so free trial

    THIS IS A SCAM. The 4 weeks free is incorrect. A pop up comes up saying to start your course and it charges you £44 . Do not use this company they are fraudsters. Refusing to give a discount

    By: Charlotte Smith05-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Subscription

    When trying to cancel the free subscription on-line, the final step is a phone call to their service centre. The agent informs you that "account was scheduled to cancel and we enabled for 6-month access to improve the outcome". This means that your account is NOT cancelled and you will be charged after the free trial. Stay away!

    By: PB04-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    I believe the recruitment process is very misleading and led to extra charges on my credit card for a subscription I did not agree to or use. The amount of emails and phonecalls I recieved was borderline harrassement and I had to block both. I will be pursing this issue further, possibly legally. They make the cancellation process nearly impossible. Do not recommend.

    By: Carol04-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trail

    After attempting to cancel my subscription a week before my free trial was up (and believing that I had succeeded), I heard nothing until 5 weeks later when I noticed a charge on my credit card from Shaw Academy. I'm willing to admit that I mist've made a mistake trying to cancel my subscription/account, tho I'm also certain that the confusing nature of the subscription and the cancellation process played a large factor.

    I tried contacting Shaw academy multiple times for about a week and a half and received nothing but auto-replies, until finally customer service contacted me. After quite a lengthy back and forth over the following 2 weeks, the end result can be summarised as follows:

    I was informed that it was simply impossible to refund me the $69.99USD subscription charge, despite the fact that I had not used any of the services, and that it was abundantly clear that this was a mistake and not my intention.

    The solution continually put forward by the customer service representative was for me to reactivate my account and take part in the courses, free of charge (final value offered was for $620 worth of free courses), despite the fact that I had informed him over and over again that I did not want to take any courses, and couldn't even if I wanted to, due to my time constraints.

    (I am aware that on surface level, this seems like an extremely generous and valuable offer. But the fact that the customer service representative continually ignored my explanation of why that would not be possible for me, and repeatably tried to force this solution on me, was insulting to say the least.)

    It makes no logical sense why they can afford to offer me $620 worth of services and content, but cannot afford to offer me a $70 refund. No financial sense whatsoever.
    All in all, I would have liked to explore what Shaw Academy has to offer, as I'm sure that the contents of their courses is informative and valuable. However, due to the complete lack of customer awareness, refusal to provide a more reasonable (in my opinion) solution, and the extremely disappointing customer service responses (in my opinion), I would strongly recommend for anyone considering Shaw Academy to search for another online course to fulfil your wants and needs. They will take money off your cards with no authority. DO NOT PUT YOUR CARD INFORMATION ON THERE WEBSITE.

    By: Jessamyn04-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ