AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (568)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    One year membership

    Scammers and thieves. Took 2 unauthorised and unnotified payments of £99.98 from my account one month before my membership was to be renewed or expire. They had hiked the renewal fee up to £599 without telling me (found it buried in the app under subscriptions) - a 200% increase from the first year (yet, on a side note, I could get this for much much less if I press on one of their magic buttons... been stung by that before with them too!) and they seem to have been on their way to taking 6 daily payments of less than £100 to stay under the radar except luckily it was a small account for online payments (in case of such incidents) so thankfully there wasn't enough in there for the third and subsequent thefts. Apparently they won't cancel my membership unless I call them. I just get some generic reply on emailing them saying I need to call and it can't be done online. No reputable company would practise like this. Their audacity and lack of integrity is incredible. Taking legal action if not resolved in the next 48 hours.

    By: Julia 04-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Freetrial

    Well it seems that shaw academy could be committing some criminal acts and should be dealt with seriously.My experience I signed up for the free trial but did not pay it much attention. They deducted money from my account and when I ask about it A representative Mr
    Mason by name told me because I did not cancel my subscriptiom before a certain time the money was deducted. He told me I could not get back my money and I told him that was unsatisfactory. I told him however to delete my info and I wanted nothing to do with shaw academy. He told me the subscription was cancelled and that no further transaction will take place. I stop recieving there msm messages thought all was well. Then this week an authorised withdrawal was made and when questioned the same response not able to refund your money but some foolishness about 6 months access when in truth you want nothing to do with them
    This is not good especially since this money they are taking represents peoples sweat time and energy. It is clear to me now what they are doing base on the reviews of others. If you join the program and stay you have no problems
    But they are using the free trial to lure people in .Take money from them and then possibly another time as they did with me
    This is criminal and my pray is that the right people would get behind this and help shut them down or severely damage the trust that others may have less they become prey also

    By: randolph parsons04-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    Total SCAM. I signed up for free trial sometimes last year, canceled after few days due to low quality. Nowadays they are bothering me with calls twice a week, trying to very rudely persuade me to subscribe. I rather blocked my card after seeing all the other reviews. I hope somebody will sue them soon.

    By: Honza02-04-2021
    Gloria 16-04-2021

    How can I get my money back. This people have finished me oo

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Painting course

    Total con artists!! Avoid!
    Signed up for free course, money deducted straight away, endless excuses when I requested that my money is returned.
    This company needs to be shut down, how are they getting away with such wide spread fraud???

    By: Tim02-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    NO PURCAHSE

    Shaw Academy is a Scam. I cancelled my free trial just after 1st free lecture. They called me trying to convince me to reactivate but I clearly said NO. And after few days they charged me 159.99 AED. And when I contacted them they said I reactivated my membership .But I never did that. I want my Refund.

    By: Monica02-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Course.... NOT!!!

    SCAM.!!!! Free trial my butt, they tell you you have to buy things to take the actual course, then make it near impossible to cancel, and once you do after they have billed you and you didn't log in once they tell you that they can't refund it, and that you did log in. But when you ask for proof they can't seem to send that too you.

    By: Not Happy02-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    GENERALLY POOR & SCAMMY, Content is alright.

    GENERALLY POOR & SCAMMY, Content is alright.
    In Aug 2020 I signed up for a free months access to the digital marketing course. I then signed up for 12 months paid access in September 2020. Today, 31/3/21 I have just been charged a full 12 months fee, absolutely appalling! No email saying I was going to be charged, nothing. No options to cancel any renewals either in their student portal(unless it's so deliberately hidden).Trying to get a refund but no response to emails, phone number on their PayPal payment info is wrong and not taking calls. SCAM.
    BEWARE: If you enter your mobile you'll be inundated with spammy calls from them on a regular basis, same with emails too, Far too much junk from them. 3 emails a day I get from them. AWFUL.
    The content is alright, but the whole experience makes it 0/10. They should rebrand as 'SCAMMERS ACADEMY.'

    By: Ben Savage31-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    From what I see I'm another victim of this scam website. I signed up for a free trial and after a week got a call from them. At the beginning of the conversation I stated that I want to cancel my subscription and the guy on the other side of the phone presented me an offer. Never agreed To anything more and definitely didn't authorize them to charge my account. Didn't press anything that could cause additional fees. Later that day I found out that 100 pounds are missing from my account and that's after 6 days from signing up for a free trial ! Avoid by all cost

    By: MS31-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Don't do it they are thieves!

    Please don't make the mistake of signing up for "Free" trial with them, they are a scam and thieving robdogs!

    The content was average and I didn't really use the course so at the end of the trial period I rang to cancel before I started to get charged. Spoke to a man who convinced me to keep the course for another few weeks so I could get more use out of it. I asked if this was free and if I would have to ring again for a second time to cancel and he said NO it was already cancelled and it would be completely free. I stupidly agreed but went onto their website and deleted my bank details so they wouldn't be able to charge me.

    I then started getting emails saying my "payment" had failed! So they were trying to charge me even though I was assured it was cancelled. I thought I was safe as they didn't have my details anymore but I was alerted to £49.99 taken from my acc this morning and on checking £49.99 was taken earlier in the month as well! So twice in one month!

    On trying to ring them I can no longer get through to a human it is just a recording saying my account is now cancelled but what about refunding me??

    It is very hard to cancel the trial and its hard to find any contact details for them either.

    I have made a complaint but I don't hold much hope of getting my money back now....after reading the stories below....

    By: kate McCabe30-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Scam trial

    Do not go anywhere near these criminals. They are devious and will take your money if your sign up and give your bank details. It's a fake business that is outsourcing scammers nationwide. They must be stopped!

    By: James Bradford29-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    DON'T USE SERVICES FROM THIS COMPANY!

    When you sign up they mention a 'free trial' and ask you to sign up for free courses. Then they will deduct your credit card for the 'course toolkit', not issue you any invoice or receipt. It's a FRAUD. Then, They offered me a FREE 3 month-plan and without my authorization they took more 169,98 USD. When I ask for refund, they say it can not be done. Do NOT sign up. It is NOT free. Beware of providing your card details. I had to cancel my credit card because there is no limit for them to cheat on you.

    By: Lisandra Santos29-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Unauthorized transaction

    I had canceled the subscription and everything they wanted to offer. End up I got charged almost $100 for unauthorized transaction. Then when you called them they will call you, there is no refund allowed from their company.
    I request a higher authority to take a look on the company, this company shouldnt be doing this to lots of people especially during this difficulty time

    By: M Chong26-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    "free" trial

    As with most reviews on this website, Shaw Academy is a SCAM. Funds were withdrawn from my card despite never subscribing to the premium membership myself. Even after canceling this membership, more "partial funds" were withdrawn over 5 days.
    There is also a lot of ambiguity in their terns for a "free trial", you cannot use take any assessments if you manage to finish the first module within less than 4 weeks to start another module, meaning they are hoping you would buy access to other modules.
    Not to mention poor customer service (of course) and the terrible quality of the website itself - multiple pop ups, glitchy videos, and annoying emails that could be very well characterized as spam.
    Also, they make it harder for you to delete your account, most likely to delay your request for a few days to bleed you out of more money.
    DO NOT join Shaw Academy if you are looking to learn more with online classes.

    By: Amna24-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Membership

    Don’t ever give your credit card to this scam company, it wasted so much of my time just to deal with it. They kept withdrawing money from your credit time to time, I had ready made 2 phone calls to cancel (the only way you could cancel the membership was to call them) but after a few months, you would see your money got stolen again from this company, I even wrote email to request for a refund but they will never do.

    By: Shai21-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    Trading Course

    Shaw Academy is a scam. I went for the 30 day free trial. The course was not relevant to my needs. When I was looking around I pressed a link for an information package. With no confirmation I was charged $54.

    By: Christopher Gullins21-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Be extremely careful to use the platform, high chance to be charged

    I joined the academy with a free trial month as it was stated in their ad in Instagram. I selected a course and days Tue and Wed to have classes. It was Wed when I started Model 1. While using the website I was constantly distracted by pop-ups when I needed to close a couple of windows to finally see course information. Checking my bank account in a week I noticed two transactions for 44.99 and 49.99 pounds to Shaw Academy. I was surprised since I hadn't purchased anything there and hadn't received any e-mails about money charges for paid services. I don't remember the fact that I confirmed anything for pay. I raised a request for return since I used only content they had stated as free, I didn't download any materials, just watched videos from Module 1. They refused to return money even having evidence that I hadn't used paid services from them and requested return in a week after the transactions.
    Their ad is misleading and dishonest. I decided to stop using the platform although I paid already for it.

    By: Vera Kankalovich18-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    SUPPOSED "FREE" TRIAL

    I wish I had seen the reviews on the Apple App store before signing up for the free trial. Like many others, I opted in for the free 4-week trial hoping to gain a new skill during the lockdown. I was out of work due to the pandemic and wanted to keep my skills sharp.

    I only completed the first few videos, not only are they extremely monotone, but you receive about 50 million calls, texts and emails when you enrol for your course as 'lesson reminders'. I then went to cancel my free trial after very quickly realising this company wasn't for me, to which I was met with a screen saying you need to call to cancel. WHO DOESN'T ALLOW YOU TO CANCEL ONLINE THESE DAYS?? SCAMMERS.

    I called multiple times to either get no answer or long hold times, by the time i finally got through I was charged £45 for the free trial. I complained about my experience to which NO REFUND was offered, in fact they refused and said it was impossible. As a gesture of 'good will' they gave me the entire course I was taking along with the certificates for free as well as 12 months free access to finish the course.

    I wasn't happy but reluctantly accepted because at least I can get a certificate at the end of this, right? WRONG. I accessed my account again after about 2 months of staying clear, just to download my certificate and update my CV. I clicked one button and got a bank pop up on my phone saying I had been charged another £50. FOR WHAT??!! I immediately picked up the phone - to save making this review any more long winded: I was REFUSED a refund, spewed a whole lot of jargon about what I was being charged for and after 5 long conversations of going in circles, they have STILL kept my money. Again as good will they've offered me more stuff that I DO NOT WANT. Disgusting customer service, they'll cut you off when you're trying to speak and have the audacity to sigh at you and get frustrated at you for complaining.

    STAY FARRRRR AWAY FROM SHAW ACADEMY

    By: Dee Bee17-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Didn't make one. Why the hell would I?

    Having delved into the deeper parts of Shaw, I am unable to describe any aspect of them positively.

    I doubt that anyone could. They think they can charge people for something they never requested in the first place is a total farce.


    Perhaps a noose and a sturdy branch would solve the problem?

    By: Alistair James Kewish17-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    4 week free trial

    Beware of this company, if you want to cancel subscription you have to call them up you cannot cancel online. Also they are continuously bombarding you with pop ups to buy extras and not all 'free' content is actually free.

    By: Wendy Sanders17-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw Academy Python Module Kit

    I had started a free trial with Shaw academy after seeing an add online for free classes on python programming. Immediately after logging into my account I was bombarded with pop-ups for additional products. Then one day when I was attempting to attend my lesson, I was met with a message that I needed to purchase a module kit to continue with the lessons. I guess I clicked "accept" because I apparently purchased it not to my knowledge. So, I realized the mistake just as I was canceling my free trial before they charged me and then I attempted to get a refund. Long story short they wont refund anything, despite me not using the product purchased. Their website is honestly a just a scheme to trick people into buying an assortment of products, very un professional.

    By: Rylee15-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ