AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (122)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.6
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    Social Media Course

    Avoid at all costs.
    I have signed up for many free trials and free information; I have never felt so harassed.
    After signing up I was prompted to pick my days & times for study, which I did. However, on the first day I missed my slot completely, and the link was unusable. After a lot of fiddling I managed to reschedule the first module for the next day, but not until the following day, when I was unable to access either this one or the second one.
    These actions were all accompanied by multiple emails, contradicting themselves by saying I had missed my course, click here to reschedule, even after I had done so.
    They rang me on a bank holiday to remind me that my course started the following day - and this was after I had blocked the first telephone number they used!
    Disgusted with the level of harassment when I hadn't even managed to access any of the course, I went to cancel my free trial. To do this you are directed to a phone number. No chance I was giving them any more opportunities to waste my time and money, so I found an email address and asked them to cancel. I had to write two further emails to this address before they would do it. First they replied with 'please don't go' and then with 'go to the website to cancel'.
    They finally cancelled my free trial four days ago but I am *still* receiving course reminders, even though I have blocked the email addresses. (This is another point; there is no way to unsubscribe via Outlook, as Shaw Academy have not provided enough information to make this possible!)
    Today I went on the website to remove my details and there is no option to do so. So I have emailed them to say that if they do not remove my details, I will be reporting them for a breach of GDPR.
    I will be checking to make sure they don't take any money though.
    Do NOT have anything to do with Shaw, it just isn't worth the hassle.
    There is no option for 0 stars, so 1 it is.

    By: Fiona Parmanand02-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Nutritional course

    I signed up to a free course, and after signing up, you get bombarded with emails, several a day, asking you to pay for your certificate at £49, I logged back into my account and cancelled my membership, I also emailed the company to cancel.
    3 weeks later, they have taken the money from my Paypal account and are refusing to refund me.

    By: Susan Jarvis01-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Did not purchase anything but they made unauthorized charges

    AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

    AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! Created an account to view courses and cancelled but still took out money!!! AVOID THESE SCAMMERS. TAKE AGES TO REPLY AND HAVE A CRAP AUTOMATED SYSTEM. DONT FALL FOR THEIR TRICKS!!!!!!! NOW DEALING WITH BANK TO RECOVER FUNDS

    By: Jamie Lewington01-06-2020
    Lucy01-06-2020

    Did you manage to get your money back?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Trial period

    This company steals money. They do not honor the cancellation within the trial period and charge after you have canceled the subscription. When you request refund they try to sell more of their rubbish to you and offer you rediculous discounts. Do not sign up to this school. They are thieves.

    By: Grant30-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    NO PURCHASE poor quality course

    Extremely poor service.. Cancelled trial subscription 7 days before deadline. Money taken out of my account.. During the cancellation Shaw Ac asks to call 0808 number.. Long winded emotional message.. Unsubscribed. Money taken. Emailed complaint.. Response via email same emotive message as telephone voicemail.. Complained again.. Still haven't heard back
    You have breached contractual agreement
    You are scaming me and others out of money

    By: SAlly Thomas30-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    3
    rating

    Nutrition Course

    What a complete joke this company are! Do not use them. First I had issues where they'd charged me for something I didn't want. Had weeks of emails (you can't call this company) and eventually managed to get a refund and they offered me ,6 months free membership and all course content. I have been working my way through the course and suddenly it won't let me continue. Been emailing for over a week asking for someone to sort it and not getting anywhere. Just avoid this company!

    By: Emma29-05-2020
    Lucy03-06-2020

    How did you manage to get a refund?!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw academy 4 week trial.

    Jesus F**** Christ, I saw the ad on social media and thought it was an absolute no brainer, a 4 week free graphics design course during these lockdown times. Next thing i know they tried to immediately charge me £40, without any warning, they had pre-authorised 1 tap purchases on their site, thankfully i used my 2nd card and i only had a few quid in that.

    Within an hour ive received texts, emails and calls, it was completely overbearing but I thought it must just be good customer service. The courses themselves are bog standard presentations that you have to pay to get a certificate of completion from.

    I thought its best to cancel, i went through the whole online process only to be told that I had to actually call a number and confirm. I called the number and I was read a love letter for about 2 mins straight until i was given the option to actually cancel finally.

    would not recommend

    By: Hakeem Imohi28-05-2020
    Sim02-06-2020

    What number did you call? I'm still stuck in subscription and they have taken money out!!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Online course

    Negative all the way!
    Scam
    Avoid
    They will steal your money without your consent
    Course is rubbish, did not learn anything
    Tutor was a robot!
    There is no customer service, you cannot get through to anyone
    You cannot cancel the course, they will keep taking money for things you did not ask for. I had to get my bank to block any future payments.
    This company needs to be investigated, as I see it has happened to so many people. Consumers need to be protected.
    Any good reviews you see are all fake.

    AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!

    By: Lara Lyttle 27-05-2020
    R.Adams 28-05-2020

    I had the same problem. Signed up for free for four weeks but before i could click anything else they wanted to know what type of subscription I would like after my four weeks free trial. The way it appears is very clever as it looks like you pay a small fee each month for the chosen subscription. I clicked on the one that looked like the best deal and was instantly charged £200. This then took me to a page regarding tool kits telling me they were included in the subscription I had chosen. So I clicked on this and what do you know - £39.95 instantly taken from my bank account. On top of this there is extra charges for assignments, certificates, and moduel tool kits. So in order to complete the course I signed up for that would mean paying roughly an extra £369.55 (which I will not be paying) There is no mention of these extra costs prior to signing up. Its a scam, its a trick and its an expensive powerpoint presentation with zero customer service and a phone line that is always turned off.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw academy free trial

    I decided to do a free trial nutrition course with this company. I got automated calls to welcome me including one at 01:24 in the morning.
    After constant text messages, i thought this course had better be good, with an amazing tutor and class participation, especially when you can only do two lessons per week.
    what i got was;
    No live tutor
    class participation nonexistent as i felt that the other students were bots, as i could not see who was in attendance. when asked a complex question ie where are you from, no one answered. I could have taken this lesson, which was like a PowerPoint presentation at any time, so what was with all the messages to attend.

    Not pleased

    By: Sophia German26-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Graphic Design Course

    I was absolutely scammed.

    By: Jude24-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    monthly subscription

    Terrible scam. Do not sign up. my daughter is 17 and they took 90 from her bank . I will be escalating this.

    By: Donna Dixon24-05-2020
    Michael Kazantzis01-06-2020

    I have had the same problem as you, did you manage to get any of the money back from it. If so would really appreciate advice to get any of it back

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "Free" membership trial scam - shaw academy

    My experience with Shaw Acadeny had been supremely negative and my complaints are as follows:

    (1) I signed up for a free 4 week trial yesterday and within a few hours, received texts, emails and an automated call at 9pm - communications have been harrassing.

    2) once you sign up, you are unable to watch tutorials at your own pace - so you're not going to get very far in 4 weeks.

    3) Your website has "pre-authorised" in-app one click purchases. These links do not give the user any warning that payment will be taken, state the cost of the purchase or give any option to cancel if accidentally clicked upon. I clicked accidentally and have automatically been charged £35 for an add-on toolkit I do not want.

    4) cancellation process - i read what the process for cancellation was before signing up for the trial. Your terms and conditions state the cancellation process is online. In fact, in order to cancel the trial the user needs you to call Shaw Academy and go through a retention team to cancel ehich is not the process originally described in their t&c's.

    I am profoundly shocked and appalled by the manner in which Shaw Academy is run and am requesting a full refund if the £39.95 which has been charged to my account without my knowledge, consent or intention.

    By: Anon23-05-2020
    Sophia German26-05-2020

    I just read what you said and went to cancel my subscription, only to find that i will have to call before i can. Not good

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    I didnt

    I do not have an idea who this company is but apparently, I have "supposedly" authorised them to take payments out of my PayPal. When asked for proof that I authorise them, they don't give it to me! I asked for a refund policy, they don't give it to me! I asked for cancellation policy, they don't give it to me! I asked for the complaints policy and guess what they don't give it to me!!! I cannot find any of my email addresses on the website to login. Now here's the best part I set up a dispute with PayPal within two hours PayPal came back and said your fault you did authorise this, So I asked PayPal for proof they told me to contact this thieving b@@@@@d of a company TWO payment they took from me in a space of a week! Luckily I'm in Ireland and there is an office in Ireland that I can send legal letters too, They ain't gonna keep my money

    By: Liam Smith23-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    These people are scam artists. Started a free trial that I got from Vodafone. Went on a couple of times and realized it wasnt for me, tried to cancel and thought I had. Then came to see £49.99 had been taken from my account. No warning no contact just took it. Tried to get it back and they refused to get me a refund, but tried to tell me I own 50% of my course, what they fuck am I going to do with 50% of a course that's not even worth any real qualification. All they are after is your money. Dont use them. It's a CON!!!!!! The website is also horrendous which is how they trick you because it is so difficult to use.

    By: Krystle Thorpe21-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Excel Course

    THEY ARE SCAMMERS!!!! AVOID!
    I hope to get a refund, they use click bait, DO NOT SIGN UP FOR FREE TRIAL!

    By: Elettra Dal Pian21-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw trial

    IT'S A HUGE SCAM.

    Read the reviews on trust pilot. Make sure you filter by bad ones. They are paying for positive reviews to outweigh the bad! People have lost hundereds down to these fraudsters and had to cancel their cards. I had to block them on PayPal and cancel my card. They then called me sometimes 10 times a day and left a torrent of voicemails, some of these were in the early hours of the morning. There are now Instagram and facebook accounts as well as petitions to get them investigated and shut down!

    By: Shannon Davison21-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    £39.95

    dont go near them - trust me

    By: Daniel20-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Excel

    Boring, not good content. Inferior teaching. But worst of all they continue to take money from my account and don't respond to my request to cancel. I'm going around in circles while they pay themselves directly from my account.

    By: Linda Porter20-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6
    rating

    ‘Free’ marketing course

    I saw an ad promoting a free course on Instagram so I took it. After the course finished, I was called to see if I wanted to extend and pay for the rest of the course and said no as my business is not earning anything during COVID19. To my surprise I was then charged £49.95 so I contacted them saying I never signed up for a paid course. I was originally met with a nice prompt reply to ensure this was a mistake and my refund would be processed, and they’d offer me another month membership free as a good will gesture. I haven’t used this ‘good will’ membership once as I never asked for it, and I’ve been charged AGAIN £49.95. After replying on the very same thread that shows this whole thing was a mistake on their behalf, I’ve just been refused a refund which is an absolute joke considering all I did was opt in for a ‘free marking course’. Please don’t sign up to any free courses unless you want to get stung

    By: Oz19-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2.5
    rating

    photography course

    joined shaw accademy for 1 month free trial,cancelled before the month had finished, confirmation email recieved.after the month was up 99 sterling taken from my account. complained to to shaw accademy but they refused to refund me.thankfully paypal resolution center found in my favour. do not go near this company .

    By: joseph ryan18-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ