AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (568)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    Sound Recording Diploma

    I had a horrible time with Shaw Academy. I signed up for the free trial of the sound recording diploma. After a few weeks of the trial I realized it wasn't for me. Therefore, I cancel my membership before the free trial period was over. But then a couple days later my card got charged $69.99! I've been in contact with them about a refund, however the support team says they can't issue a refund even though they charged me after I cancelled!

    Really really unhappy about this, and I would not recommend Shaw to anyone! Seems like a huge scam!!

    By: Emily 26-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    SCAM COMPANY! TAKES MONEY OUT AND THEM CUSTOMER SERVICE EMAILS BACK A LOAD OF RUBBISH. THEY HAVE ROBBED ME OF MY MONEY! DO NOT TRUST THIS CRIMINAL ORGANISATION

    By: Mike26-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Sneaky company

    Never give banking or personal information to firms like this. They call, give limited information to you, and request personal details. I gave the sales agent such a hard time because she didn't want to give me proper information on what courses I allegedly "won for free". Today's "Lucky chosen customer" my foot. Glad I had my antennas up and refused to provide any personal or banking info.

    By: Shai23-04-2021
    PH24-04-2021

    I signed up for a free online course on the 17th March, on the 21st March I sent an email to please cancel the course as I am no longer interested. I received an email back saying the course has been cancelled but they will keep my account and subscription open. I didn't think anything of this until today the 24th April when they took money off my account and about 3 hours later took a second payment, same amount out my account. At no point when speaking to the consultant that called me did they mention a subscription and that I would have to pay for it. I did not consent to them deducting funds from my account. They are not being transparent with people and I want a refund for both amounts deducted.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    TRAIL PERIOD GOT CHARGED $307.99

    SCAM FOR TRIAL PERIOD THEY CHARGED ME 300 DOLLARS. THERE IS NO WAY TO CONTACT THE CUSTOMER CARE.AFTER 2 WEEKS MANY EMAILS AND MESSAGES ON THE APP. GOT A CALL AND SAID NO REFUND.SAVE UR SELF. ITS A WARNING. ITS A SCAM

    By: Harris Palmer23-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2.5
    rating

    Graphic design course

    SCAM SCAM SCAM!!! advertise free subscription then began charging me for annual subscriptions. When told about this they promised I wouldn't be but I was continuously charged, luckily I kepy my account empty for this reason. The constant emails are practically spam and materials to actually participate in the projects are not free or included, random offers are constantly popping up. Do not use it it's pointless, and more of an issue than help. There's so many other legit course websites

    By: Chloe Spencer20-04-2021
    Shannon 21-04-2021

    what are the other web sites that are online

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    'Free' trial

    Please dont not sign up.
    i was on the free trial, offered through revolut. They tried to take 3 payments from my bank account without my permission when i had only started my free trial 3 days before.
    I received a call from Shaw academy, and was told on the phone i would not be charged, yet they attempted to take 3 payments out of my account.
    2 payments were for €100 and the third €230. Do not sign up, it is a scam.
    Luckily my bank text me and made me aware of the attempts made. Please do not sign up. i have heard it is extremely hard to retrieve this money once they have taken it out. They are very hard to contact.
    My bank is trying to block this business as this has happened so many times to customers.

    By: Gf19-04-2021
    G19-04-2021

    If you have signed, up, i would recommended cancelling your card and requesting your bank to block shaw academy from your account, otherwise they will continue to try and take money from you. i had to do this, and was advised from my bank.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Lucky i didn't send my bank details

    Negative plz plz don't sign luckily i didn't i went to do the free 4week free and it wouldn't do it unless i gave them my bank details which i found strange as 1 it was free and 2 no company would ask for your 3 digit code and your long number even direct debit don't do this they are not ligit do not give them your bank details now they keep pestering me with emails that I'm trying to block DO NOT SIGN u can get some course's free i had to give 1 star as they wouldn't let me put 0

    By: Emma leigh-Hill18-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    I signed up for a free trial, watched one introductory video of the course and that's it. I was going to cancel my membership before a month, but Shaw Academy charged me 307.99 CAD for a 12 month membership without any proof of purchase or receipts during my first week. When I tried contacting them, a lady said that as this is a discounted price it cannot be refunded. They finally refunded 200 CAD after a heated conversation, but charged me 107.99 CAD for watching an introductory video in my first free month.

    By: Riddhi18-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trail

    Free trial... yeah right! Looked at it and didn't log in again. Today I see they deducted R399 from my account for membership fee! Emailed them and they said due to Terms and Conditions they cannot refund me and that I should have canceled my subscription.

    By: Anne-Louise Bredenkamp 17-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Graphic Design Diploma

    AVOID THIS COMPANY! They double charged me. Four months later still fighting for a refund. Cancelled in time and said NO! to extend the subscription. They then stole money a month later.

    By: N Wallace 16-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    free 4-week trial

    They are running a credit card auto-billing scam based on a e-contract that makes it impossible to cancel your membership through normal means of calling or simply cancelling your "student" account info. My last resort was to cancel my credit card. When an online business puts up so many obstacles to controlling your membership cancellation and does not provide easy or honest phone access to customer service, that is a red flag that they are are con.
    I am a Canadian "customer" who signed up online in early March 2021 when I saw their "free 4 week trial". I immediately had regrets and called the same day with a number I found thru a google search, to cancel my membership and get my credit card details removed. A guy with an Indian accent served me. I even said that are you sure that my credit card won't be billed? He assured me that my cc info and account info would be deleted from their Shaw Academy system and that I would not be charged anything. LIES!!!

    I recently received my cc statement and it shows two charges from Shaw Academy for CAD$69.99 each: "Mar 07 CKO*SHAW ACADEMY 531-6854354 NH" and on Apr 04 "CKO*SHAW ACADEMY 531-68543564 NH". So I went to their website and found that I could still log into my Shaw Academy account even though I had deleted it myself back in early March. I saw that although my cc info and personal details were blank, that my account read "ACTIVE" and "PREMIUM MEMBERSHIP".

    I followed the steps to cancel my membership as I could not delete my profile info. Clicking through as per Shaw Academy's website's instructions I got to this page that read: "Confirm your cancellation...our business hours are...+1 844 987 3907 Canada..."

    Well, I called that number and there are only two prompts, there is no real person to speak with. Each prompt gives an outgoing message instructing the caller to cancel their membership by logging into their Shaw Academy account and deleting the info. WHAT!!! My Shaw Academy account DID NOT LET ME DELETE MY ACCOUNT INFO AND GAVE ME THIS NUMBER TO CALL.

    It's a cunning circle that Shaw Academy has devised to entrap you into not having control to cancel their access to your credit card...hence they will auto-debit you until you find a way to stop them!

    That is bad faith business practice.

    My advice, Shaw Academy is a con business as far as their lure of "free 4 week trial" is...they just want to get you to consent to giving them your credit card information, and then they make you go in circles to cancel it, not before auto-debiting you at least a couple of time.

    SHAW ACADEMY SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN.

    By: Canuck Kat14-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    SCAM! SCAM!! SCAM!!! I signed up for a 4 week free trial, yet was charged a full year membership fee while still in my trial period. Reached out to customer service and they denied the refund claiming that I've upgraded to the full membership, which I haven't.

    They would rather ask for charity than blatantly stealing people's money. Such crooks - sign up (even for a free trial at your own risk)!!

    By: Abhi14-04-2021
    Emma Hope17-04-2021

    This is exactly what they have just done to me!! They phoned me and waffled on and apparently this call was what "activated" the premium membership. I'm really hoping my back will be able to get my money back

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Monthly subscription for online courses

    Scammers will steal your money!
    I've cancelled my subscription before trial period expired, but after 5 weeks or some they steal 70 euro from my account and refused to refund! And I'm not the only one, you should never use their "service" !

    By: Valeriy12-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    do not sign up for the free trial, EVER

    they charged me for a module i did not order and now they won't refund me, And i cannot even delete my account or my bank details

    By: Roxana Varvara12-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    A ‘free 4 week course’

    **SCAM**- DO NOT SIGN UP TO THIS COMPANY!

    I am absolutely DISGUSTED by this company!! On the 1st April 2021, I signed up to a ‘free 4 week course’, and did not Buy any extra services or upgrade to premium (as they’re trying to tell me I did). Literally within 20 minute of me signing up I realised it wasn’t what I thought and cancelled it immediately!

    Straight after I got bombarded with phone calls as to why I cancelled, and then Six days later I got charged £39.99. I was shocked, and immediately demanded a refund. And they proceeded to tell me that I had ‘clicked premium’, and that I had cancelled after the 7 days (when I got charged on the 6th day). But I also have screenshots of my confirmation email from the 1st April confirming my cancellation and confirming I spoke to someone about the cancellation on the 1st day!

    AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS! They are a scam and as soon as you sign up to their “free” course they will take your money regardless if you cancel!

    By: A Clarke 11-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    year

    Scammers and thieves. Took 2 unauthorised and unnotified payments of £99.98 from my account one month before my membership was to be renewed or expire. They had hiked the renewal fee up to £599 without telling me (found it buried in the app under subscriptions) - a 200% increase from the first year (yet, on a side note, I could get this for much much less if I press on one of their magic buttons... been stung by that before with them too!) and they seem to have been on their way to taking 6 daily payments of less than £100 to stay under the radar except luckily it was a small account for online payments (in case of such incidents) so thankfully there wasn't enough in there for the third and subsequent thefts. Apparently they won't cancel my membership unless I call them. I just get some generic reply on emailing them saying I need to call and it can't be done online. No reputable company would practise like this. Their audacity and lack of integrity is incredible. Taking legal action.

    By: Julia09-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Don't Know what I purchased

    OK so since November I've been billed randomly and this last time I had to just turn my card off because of this. I have asked repeatedly to have my funds returned. I don't want, or need it. I never even used it at all. Never logged in. Yet they offer more courses that I do not want in lieu of a return of my funds. They suck big time don't waste your time refunds never happen

    By: Amanda McCormack08-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Course

    SCAM!!!! Stay well clear! Charged me twice after I'd cancelled then had a call asking why I'd cancelled (2months later) and tried to offer me a discount to continue. Told the guy on the phone 5 times a big fat NO I wasn't interested and still wouldn't take no for answer!

    By: Karmac0dex07-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free makeup course

    SCAM!! Signed up for the free class and cancelled. they charged me 180$ and then continued to try random amounts. I had to cancel my credit card and they still try random amounts going on 3 months now.

    By: Carole06-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Advertised Free Online Class

    The information provided by this service was all legible and easy to understand and at first I had a lovely experience with it, but when I tried to quit due to time constraints I ran into a couple issues. I was told that it would be a completely free service and I wouldn't be charged, then I recieved a certification charge for $279, and when I confronted customer service about it they claimed that I consented to this charge, which I didn't. Their advertisement claiming that the service was free was false, and they did agree to delete my personal information, but even as I said that I didn't want to use the platform anymore they refused to listen and insisted that I continue to recieve free services for the next five years, which I didn't want. It's a scam. Don't waste your money

    By: Rose P06-04-2021
    Thomas06-04-2021

    This is a scam. They let you pay after you cancel the trial.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ