AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (115)

    2.2
    19% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.6
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    2020

    Keep well away from these scammers. Easy to sign up, near impossible to cancel. Took £50 for nothing from me should have been a free trail.
    Do waste your life at shawacademy. There are some decent alternative online schools.

    By: Ex SACADEMY student10-07-2020
    Dennis Bowles 10-07-2020

    Search Results Featured snippet from the web DO NOT PURCHASE FROM SHAWACADEMY! It's a scam and your money is better spent elsewhere. They lure you with free trials, then they do not cancel your subsription and they start to issue baseless payments on your card. AVOID and REPORT them and if you have had a negative experience with them, WRITE IT ON ALL PLATFORMS!!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4
    rating

    Shaw Academy

    It’s a scam. Do not get involved. It’s not free as advertised. It’s difficult to cancel and it takes a long time doing so. After cancellation they still phoned me at 6am. When I complained they sent annoying messages to deliberately get me even more aggregated. I had to block them completely.

    By: Lorraine Clarke 10-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "free trial" SCAM

    don't let you cancel your free trial. Have to do it on their page. Then they give you a number to ring. Make it extremely awkward. Then when you do cancel they take money out anyway.

    Scam.

    Ignored any complaints. No other word for it than theft

    By: Ross Selkirk09-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    Mandy 08-07-2020 08-07-2020
    Shaw Academy is a scam. I saw Shaw Academy, pvt. limited advertisement through facebook page and I joined the free trial course and membership on 25 April 2020 and I cancelled the membership through emails and cancelled through member area in shaw academy website. However, I have cancelled the membership since 25 April 2020. Further checked on my visa statement, shaw academy charged me on 22 May (US$ 69.99 ) and 19 Jun (US$ 69.99 ). I emailed them for refund but they insist not to refund. I searched on internet about the shaw academy, so many people had same issue and being cheated. I feel disappointed why facebook does not stop Shaw Acadamy to advertise on facebook leading many people being cheated. I joined the free trial because this ads was advertised in facebook and I do not expect I was cheated and keep charging each month without my authorisation and don't get my refund. If the case cannot be resolved, I will send all the emails response and supporting to my credit card centre to get refund and tell the whole fact to media (BBC, Guardian) etc and report to consumer council and police. Also I will request facebook to investigate and stop more victim.

    By: Mandy08-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    online course

    DONT SIGN UP!! it's a scam, there's additional courses and it's a pain to try and cancel not trustworthy at all! I cancelled my account within an hour of signing up and asked my bank to block any payments from them just in case! do not trust them absolute scam

    By: Devina Sharma08-07-2020
    Mandy08-07-2020

    Shaw Academy is a scam. I saw Shaw Academy, pvt. limited advertisement through facebook page and I joined the free trial course and membership on 25 April 2020 and I cancelled the membership through emails and cancelled through member area in shaw academy website. However, I have cancelled the membership since 25 April 2020. Further checked on my visa statement, shaw academy charged me on 22 May (US$ 69.99 ) and 19 Jun (US$ 69.99 ). I emailed them for refund but they insist not to refund. I searched on internet about the shaw academy, so many people had same issue and being cheated. I feel disappointed why facebook does not stop Shaw Acadamy to advertise on facebook leading many people being cheated. I joined the free trial because this ads was advertised in facebook and I do not expect I was cheated and keep charging each month without my authorisation and don't get my refund. If the case cannot be resolved, I will send all the emails response and supporting to my credit card centre to get refund and tell the whole fact to media (BBC, Guardian) etc and report to consumer council and police. Also I will request facebook to investigate and stop more victim.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Subscription

    Reached out to me on the phone and told me I would not have to pay for an upgrade and took £100!!! From my account most disgusting customer service and company i have ever experienced I have been trying to contact them for a refund and no luck AVOID AVOID

    By: Shaw academy is a scam08-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    This Academy is nothing but a scam. I signed up for a free trial and rang days later to cancel it prior to being liable for any payments and yet I was wrongfully charged £49.99 last week and it’s been impossible to contact them. (I would give 0 stars if I could).

    By: Emma Moriarty 07-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Free 4-week trial charged £49.99 right away

    Signed up for a “free” 4 week trial on 2nd July 2020 and was shocked to see that they had already taken a £49.99 payment on 2nd July 2020.

    Everything says free 4 week trial, even the checkout page shows, “pay £0.00 now” but still they took payment.

    Only way to contact them is via email, they are open between 4am and 1pm GMT. Which I did on 2nd July 2020 via their online form.

    Terrible company and will be cancelling right away.

    ** UPDATE **
    After the response below from Shaw I sent a second email outlining the issues and attached screenshots of the signup page and confirmation payment from PayPal.

    They responded saying they didn't recognise my email address and I can sign up at the following link.

    Based on the fact I emailed you from my email address used to set up the account AND you have sent more than 10 emails to already to the same email AND I gave my PayPal details, email address and a screenshot of the recipts I find it impossible that you cannot find my account.

    I decided to cancel and open a case with PayPal.

    To cancel you have to go through 6 confirmation pages, that continue to repeat and warn you that you will lose benefits, or offer you to pay less or have 30 days free.

    The lower payment tier isn't advertised on their website but it is basically the same however you can only do 1 course at a time for £24.99 rather than £49.99.

    When you finally get to the last page of the cancellation process you have to phone them during between Monday- Friday 9am till 5pm with a special code.

    Could they make it any harder?

    I have cancelled my PayPal billing agreement and opened a case against them now.

    Further to the cancellation, if you keep clicking the 30 days free it just keeps getting added on. I have 147 days because they just kept giving me free 30 days. This is how terrible their website is.

    ** UPDATE 6th July 2020 **
    I had an email today saying after investigating they found I signed up for a 4 week free trial (didn't state the date) but as I didn't cancel within the 4 weeks I was charged, and as per their terms and conditions will not refund me. They have however given me 6 months for free.

    How can I have signed up on 2nd July 2020 and already be out of my 4 week free trial? I was charged £49.99 at the time of joining, not afterwards.

    The endless back and forth continues. It goes to show these guys will lie through their teeth to keep your money.


    Do not give these scammers your money

    By: Vincent White06-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    A course on social media

    Avoid, avoid, avoid!! I tried them out but found the overwhelming number of reminders and sales pushes extremely annoying. So I cancelled immediately and received written confirmation. The next month they charged me £50! I have contacted them again, called them (can't speak to anyone just a very weird, repetitive message about 'turning your back on your goals'). Nightmare!

    By: Rebecca Stockman06-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    12 month subscription

    DO NOT USE! WHY DID I NOT READ THESE FIRST? I started the course and then decided after a few weeks that it would be worth doing the whole course. Once I'd paid £200, I accidentally clicked on a link which then billed me £40 for a certificate. I finished the first module and clicked on the link to do the assessment. It billed me another £40. Totally gutted. A huge mistake. Huge lesson learnt, just an expensive one.

    By: Leigh Lerpiniere05-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Was supposed to be NOTHING

    SCAM SCAM SCAM - I WISH THERE WAS A 0 STAR OPTION
    Like so many of the other reviewers on here, I have also been scammed by Shaw Academy.

    They entice you with a free trial and then make it virtually impossible to cancel, and will harass you with emails, texts, Whatsapp's, and anything else they can contact you on.

    Furthermore, they use a deceitful and underhanded system to charge you even more. They have a one-click payment system, which means that curiously clicking on a "toolkit", for example, will IMMEDIATELY, charge you £39.95 which they will refuse to refund. One click and your money is gone.

    Upon realising I had been scammed, I contacted my bank and Shaw Academy directly. Shaw Academy was awful at replying to emails and when they did, they mainly just tried to make me purchase more! I asked numerous times for a refund and to cancel my account - these requests were repeatedly ignored.

    FINALLY, I received my refund and written confirmation that my account had been cancelled, with no further charges:
    "As per your request, we have now cancelled your membership.
    Please be assured that you will not be charged for your membership until you reactivate."
    It turned out this was a LIE! Whilst looking through my bank statements the next month, I saw that they had charged me £39.95 again! Here starts the battle again!

    Looking on here and other review sites, I can see that so many people have fallen for the same scam as me. I don't understand how they haven't been shut down yet.

    By: Chris05-07-2020
    Chris06-07-2020

    ***UPDATE*** Since writing this review, I have realised that the second charge was my bank taking back their refund after Shaw Academy eventually refunded me too. I can't find a way to edit on here so please disregard that part of my review. However, for the other reasons outlined, 1 star is still too generous. I would advise to stay away from SA at all costs.

    Josephine Ngai11-07-2020

    I left a super bad review because I lost my free 30 day trial one hour into my free trial because i clicked a wrong button and was charged cad45.99. At first no one responded after 15 or so emails and those who responded did not even read my message but keep welcoming me to the class and one even enroll me for more certificates and courses as I have already paid for it and because of this one person, i got more emails to sign up for those additional paid classes and courses. I finally sent an email to prioritysupport@shawacademy.com and was given a full refund to my credit card. I am not sure if this review will ever appear in public but I wish I did not have to waste much of my time trying to get this $45.99 CAD back. DO SOMETHING ABOUT BUTTONS THAT REQUIRE PAYMENT. I AM SURE THAT I WILL NOT BE THE ONLY ONE. IF YOUR COMPANY WANTS A GOOD REVIEW AGAIN AND AGAIN, THEN MAKE SURE TO REQUIRE A SECOND BUTTON TO VERIFY THE PAYMENT AND THAT WE CAN SAY NO IF WE CLICK THAT BUTTON BY ACCIDENT. Stay away and I will give a 0 star rating if there is one. They only give me the email priority support after so so many emails

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Signed up for free trial

    Biggest scam on the planet. Did not know their history before and I am now fighting desperately to be refunded 69.95 usd tgat they took from my card and are telling me they dont offer refunds but they can upgrade my subscription. No justice, no peace. I am fighting this war to the end.

    By: Keston De Sormeaux04-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Free Excel course

    After answering and ad on a social media platform for a free excel course, I was very worried to learn that they had stealthy withdrawn 2 X monthly subscription fees from my account. When I signed up, I was not aware that it was a subscription service. I was slightly alarmed when having to add my payment details (but I have done this with other free courses and not encountered any issues).

    I found after signing up, I could not access my account or the course. I went through the previous channel from the ad that I saw but it wanted me to add payment details again, so I didn't proceed. I thought nothing of it because it was a free course.

    After finding out that the subscription fee had been deducted twice, I contacted Shaw Academy to explain that a, I didn't realise it was a subscription, b, I could not access my account and c, I hadn't even been able to access my chosen course.

    What ensued was 2 weeks of email ping-pong with them refusing to acknowledge my problem or issue a refund. All I got was it was in the T&C's that I signed up to. When I explained (again) that I had not seen any T&C's, could not access my account so wasn't even able to check in there and did not receive a confirmation email from them, I was still met with a refund was not possible.

    I eventually complaint to Paypal and the BBB and eventually won my refund, however, it was 2 weeks of frustrating leg work on my part to get this.

    So, in my experience, Shaw Academy are not trust worthy. Their customer service is non-existent, the website is impossible to navigate and littered with one-click purchase links (ready to trip you up and charge you more). You cannot cancel and delete your account (if you can access it in the first place) and are led on a merry song and dance of screen after screen of the cancellation process, only to be told to call a number that nobody answers. And finally, their qualifications are in fact not accredited. They once where but that authority has since been withdrawn.

    Do not use them.

    By: Jacky Wicheard03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial, which I cancelled in time through a VERY worksome process

    DO NOT PURCHASE FROM SHAWACADEMY! It's a scam and your money is better spent elsewhere. They lure you with free trials, then they do not cancel your subsription and they start to issue baseless payments on your card. AVOID and REPORT them and if you have had a negative experience with them, WRITE IT ON ALL PLATFORMS!!


    By: Niko-Petri Hakala03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Graphic Design and Web Desgin

    These guys from Shawn Academy are the most discrete thieves ever. Once they have your debit/credit card details they'll make unauthorised transactions and steal your money legally for whatever stupid reason. If you make a complaint and ask for a refund they'll tell you it's written in their Terms & Conditions and they can't accept your request. Also when you call to cancel your account (apparently you have to call, you can't just do it directly from your account, they'll never mention this so they have time to screw you up), you'll be bombarded with offers for new subscription (so called "cheaper options"), the opportunity to add others on your account and many more instead of simply asking you to confirm your account cancellation (the worst part it that you're talking to a robot so you have to waste time like crazy). One day I got a call from one of their guys and he offered me some full subscription for less then he asked if it sounds good. I told him that it sounds good, I'll think about it and let them know but once I hung up my phone they wanted to charge me £100 for something I never agreed on, good thing the transaction was cancelled due to insufficient funds. Listen everyone, don't get near these guys if you really want to invest in your future, everything that's eye-catchy about them is just marketing crap and once you give them access to your bank account they'll screw you up. Don't let yourself get fooled by so called "good reviews" on their website cause it's all a lie and not only that, the courses are too much theory based, unprofessional and a waste of time (feels like they are teaching kids, not students/adults). Be wise, invest in something that's actually worth it, don't lose your money like me with this scam and always read the bad reviews first before starting a course online. These are not the only ones, there are others that charge you £1000, then at the end of the day you're left with nothing and obviously you can't go against them and get your money back, because legal power, and what I call "legal stealing".
    PS: Always be cautious, it's full of scams everywhere!

    By: John B.02-07-2020
    Regeta09-07-2020

    It's a total scam. Rubbish.They will never tell you how much it will cost you in the end. But lure you, tempting you to buy one app for question and answer., buy another this to win that, absolutely rubbish. The class is a recorded Power Point.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free course

    Do not sign up to anything. They charge you before your free trial has finished and refuse to offer a refund

    By: Jacqui Wright01-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    SCAM SCAM SCAM
    DO NOT GIVE YOUR CARD OR PAYPAL DETAILS
    DO NOT BELIEVE THEM WHEN THEY SAY THEY HAVE CANCELLED - They set the date two months ahead to try and get more money for nothing
    THEY IGNORE YOUR CANCELLATION EMAILS (13 & 26 days into free trial)
    CANCEL YOUR CARD

    By: Angela Hughes01-07-2020
    Mandy 08-07-202008-07-2020

    Shaw Academy is a scam. I saw Shaw Academy, pvt. limited advertisement through facebook page and I joined the free trial course and membership on 25 April 2020 and I cancelled the membership through emails and cancelled through member area in shaw academy website. However, I have cancelled the membership since 25 April 2020. Further checked on my visa statement, shaw academy charged me on 22 May (US$ 69.99 ) and 19 Jun (US$ 69.99 ). I emailed them for refund but they insist not to refund. I searched on internet about the shaw academy, so many people had same issue and being cheated. I feel disappointed why facebook does not stop Shaw Acadamy to advertise on facebook leading many people being cheated. I joined the free trial because this ads was advertised in facebook and I do not expect I was cheated and keep charging each month without my authorisation and don't get my refund. If the case cannot be resolved, I will send all the emails response and supporting to my credit card centre to get refund and tell the whole fact to media (BBC, Guardian) etc and report to consumer council and police. Also I will request facebook to investigate and stop more victim.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "Free 4-week trial"

    I joined Shaw Academy for a 4-week free trial period and got charged 50€ during that period without any announcement, any explanation.

    I WAS CHARGED 50€ UNAUTHORIZED DURING MY FREE TRIAL PERIOD FOR ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

    I didn't purchase anything, I didn't click on any button that suggested any kind of fee or payment, I didn't even watch a single video.

    I just got the info that I was charged - no explanation, no any notion in advance. In communication with them through emails it is like talking to the wall, talking to automatic responses.

    TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

    By: Ana Armano Linta30-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    15330

    UNSUBSCRIBE ME FROM YOUR COURSES I AM NOT PAYING AND NOT PHONING TO CANCEL. IF YOU DO NOT CANCEL AND MY ACCOUNT IS DEBITED I WILL TAKE LEGAL ACTION. I WILL NOT BE SCAMMED. I HAVE FOLLOWED THE RIGHT CHANNELS AND MY ATTORNEY IS WAITING FOR YOU TO DEBIT MY ACCOUNT!

    By: Natasha Opperman30-06-2020
    Angela01-07-2020

    Cancel your card they even forward the cancellation date by 2 months to get more money for nothing!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    FREE TRIAL

    This is really a scam. I wish i had chanced upon this website before i had opted for their free trial membership. I would never have fallen prey to their scheme. they offered a free trial membership and i opted for some courses. The course matter was basic and repetitive over different courses. i discontinued within two weeks and called their cancellation number to cancel.They tried to offer me several free course materials and tool kits but i was not interested because the course material itself as unsatisfactory. i was told my membership as cancelled but to my shock i was charged at the end of the trial period. i called again and i complained but their attitude towards complaint redressal is so non-committal. cheats!! All their representative had to say as 'the charges are levyable as per the terms and conditions!!' But they advertised free trial!! They dont deserve even one star but this review will not go through without clicking on the stars!!

    By: Simone29-06-2020
    Angela01-07-2020

    Have you cancelled your card they even forwarded the cancellation date by 2 months to get more money for nothing! Confirmed cancelled but when I checked the cancellation date was 10.08.2020 and they are still refusing refund!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ