AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (48)

    2.4
    21% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.8
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.4

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Excel Course

    THEY ARE SCAMMERS!!!! AVOID!
    I hope to get a refund, they use click bait, DO NOT SIGN UP FOR FREE TRIAL!

    By: Elettra Dal Pian 21-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw trial

    IT'S A HUGE SCAM.

    Read the reviews on trust pilot. Make sure you filter by bad ones. They are paying for positive reviews to outweigh the bad! People have lost hundereds down to these fraudsters and had to cancel their cards. I had to block them on PayPal and cancel my card. They then called me sometimes 10 times a day and left a torrent of voicemails, some of these were in the early hours of the morning. There are now Instagram and facebook accounts as well as petitions to get them investigated and shut down!

    By: Shannon Davison 21-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    £39.95

    dont go near them - trust me

    By: Daniel 20-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Excel

    Boring, not good content. Inferior teaching. But worst of all they continue to take money from my account and don't respond to my request to cancel. I'm going around in circles while they pay themselves directly from my account.

    By: Linda Porter 20-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6
    rating

    ‘Free’ marketing course

    I saw an ad promoting a free course on Instagram so I took it. After the course finished, I was called to see if I wanted to extend and pay for the rest of the course and said no as my business is not earning anything during COVID19. To my surprise I was then charged £49.95 so I contacted them saying I never signed up for a paid course. I was originally met with a nice prompt reply to ensure this was a mistake and my refund would be processed, and they’d offer me another month membership free as a good will gesture. I haven’t used this ‘good will’ membership once as I never asked for it, and I’ve been charged AGAIN £49.95. After replying on the very same thread that shows this whole thing was a mistake on their behalf, I’ve just been refused a refund which is an absolute joke considering all I did was opt in for a ‘free marking course’. Please don’t sign up to any free courses unless you want to get stung

    By: Oz 19-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2.5
    rating

    photography course

    joined shaw accademy for 1 month free trial,cancelled before the month had finished, confirmation email recieved.after the month was up 99 sterling taken from my account. complained to to shaw accademy but they refused to refund me.thankfully paypal resolution center found in my favour. do not go near this company .

    By: joseph ryan 18-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    Absolutely terrifying service to use. They have so many tricks to try and steal your money without your knowledge. They do not allow many customers to cancel online, instead they have to call a number and hope someone answers. Their cancellation process tricks many people into putting the account on hold for a week, and then it automatically reactivates itself. They have "one click" purchases which even if you don't click them will often say you clicked them and they say there is absolutely no refunds for those.

    By: Angel Wilson 18-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw academy course

    SCAM SCAM SCAM.

    Please check instagram @shawacademy.scam for more information.

    These guys take unauthorised payments from your account. There's no clarification before you sign up about ANY HIDDEN costs and payments.

    AVOID AT ALL COST.

    By: Shaw academy SCAM 17-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Monthly subscription

    My first advice to ANYONE signing up is cancel any authorised payment immediately after you access. Their website is like a mine field of “we will take all your money”!! If I could give 0 stars I would.

    These reviews are fake by the way they won’t let me review below 2 stars

    My daughter clicked on buy a certificate for a class I hadn’t even attended and they took almost £40 from my paypal like that no verification no second confirm button bam, my whole weeks grocery money gone before I could blink.

    When I contacted them to explain what happened they gave some lame excuse that since I had access to it they couldn’t refund it. Now I can’t access the certificate till I finish all modules and I haven’t even taken one yet so total bs! Then they just stopped replying me. I escalated it with PayPal I think they should loose access to PayPal as they are abusing their one click payment system there are probably £3-400 worth of one click buttons on their website.

    Total garbage. Save your money and your sanity I’m now having to decide what groceries I will buy and won’t buy since I’m a single mum without income. Thanks a lot you scumbags.

    By: Victoria 17-05-2020
    Abhilash 19-05-2020

    If it makes you feel any better the same thing happened to me Victoria. I lost 99GBP. Making education a scam business is one of the most horrible things anyone can do. They know exactly what they're doing.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4
    rating

    Education with Shaw Academy

    You cannot cancel their Trial Period and close your account, Swaw Academy is a scam to refuse to close your account, and charge you with hidden cost. Beware of this site, they drain your account on money. They will only lure people in with fake advertising och cheap education when it's in really a huge cost.

    Save your money instead, you can buy a university education instead for this cost on Shaw Academy, and if you don't want to go to college, then you can find much cheaper and better opportunities to get your education from other providers. Shaw Academy is a big scam for you money

    By: Ano Nymous 17-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    SCAMMED BY CLICK-BAIT. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

    One click purchase scams. Your free trial describes the cancellation process as simple and online. This is untrue. It is difficult and via telephone.
    They of course never answer the phone. When they do, you are told the support team will get back to you, who, again never do.

    If you subscribe, be aware that if you do not like the site content, you will not be refunded!

    UPDATE: Response to email asking me to contact the trust pilot email address they have setup.

    I asked for a refund for a second time and this is the response I received...

    "Thank you for contacting us.
    I see that you have purchased the Web Development Module 1 Toolkit shown in your members area, course page, pop-up banner and email by clicking on the “Buy Now” option.
    Your Toolkit includes Webinar Slides for every lesson, Summary Notes for every lesson and Bonus videos. You can download these materials and save them on your device for future reference even after your access period expires.
    You can access the toolkit resources under the "Resources" tab on your course page through your student login area using a web browser.
    Once the Toolkit is activated in your account, it is made available to you immediately for download hence it cannot be disabled or the access cannot be revoked. Hence, we will not be able to process the refund as per our terms and conditions. Click Here to review the same in particular section 5.8.
    However, we at Shaw Academy do want to ensure you benefit thoroughly from our services. I would like to offer you credit to the value of $199 which can be used for your Certificate of Completion and also 3 remaining module toolkit and 1 hard copy diploma. This is far in excess of what you paid and you can download and access these for life. The Certificate of Completion will be excellent to achieve your goals for employment or self-improvement.
    I have enabled this for you in your account and it will be activated within a few hours, so you have 3 additional toolkit, one E-certificate and a hard copy for free now.
    Make sure to keep attending your classes and stick with you plan and you will see the results. You will now also get your Certificate of Completion at the end of the module for free.
    Your Friendly Neighbourhood Shaw Academy Team
    Kind Regards,
    Paul"

    My response to this is that I haven't activated anything. I haven't actually clicked anything beyond that click-bait button apart from the red 'X' to leave the site.

    This is not resolved and I have reported this incident to the BBB. I recommend anybody else to do the same if they experience this scam.

    By: Frankie Howard 15-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    TL,DR: AVOID AVOID AVOID

    Firstly: Don't believe in the good reviews, don't know who wrote them, but pretty sure they aren't legit. Look at all the ratings or look on the rest of the web, you will find PLENTY of unhappy customers.

    Edit to add: My account listed me having premium membership even though I was on free trial - something I just realised is a red flag in itself.
    #

    My experience: I saw their ad for a free Nutrition course on Instagram which Id been thinking about for a while, so took the plunge. I came here first to see their reliability, which is why I say look other places and check all the ratings! I applied for the free trial, put my paypal as payment form (obviously I'd planned to cancel well before the 4 weeks ended) and scheduled classes for 10pm after my child slept otherwise I wouldnt be able to get any studying done.

    As soon as I signed up - was sent a ton of texts, a couple calls and emails. Emails are natural, but texts and calls? Already that's pretty aggressive. There was also no options to turn these off and though in the texts its said STOP to opt out, I couldn't send anything and the link to opt out led me to nothing.
    Felt pretty suspicious, so started to look out the cancellation process in case I had to leave. After aggressive delaying of about 8 different web pages of what Id be missing to get to the cancellation page, finally it showed a phone number open 9-5 and my student ref number. Rather manipulative I felt, so saved all the info for use, as it was still the weekend and I thought I might as well get some classes done.

    I kept getting calls/texts the next day and I finally opened my laptop to get to the class. I had a delay of few mins then to my frustration saw the 1st lesson had disappeared. To reschedule Id have to do it the next day and I could see a pattern that I would just keep missing classes because of some reason or other. Flexible though it claimed it was not. It also each time I went onto it kept pestering me to buy the £40 toolkit. Than god I avoided that button! So many people have said as soon as they pressed it they got charged and it was non refundable.

    I immediately made plans to cancel and meanwhile started to search online for more customer reviews.
    I see that on one site people are calling them scammers, turns out a lot of people have had payments taken even if they cancelled their trial in time because putting in payment details give Shaw Academy permission for pre-approved payments, which cannot be disputed with PayPal etc. Lo and behold, when I sign into PayPal, I see they have taken 30p off my account and refunded it, without disclosing they would do this. On advice of a PayPal forum question, I remove Shaw Academy from my PayPal pre-approved payment section. This stops them from taking anymore unauthorised payments from me.

    The next morning I call the number and get Samantha as my representative, who is nice but still pushy and shady. I want to cancel, but to delay cancellation she wants to know my life story, offers me the toolkit free so I can have flexible class time, offers me free certificates per module (You have to pay £40 to receive each certificate per module completed..WHAT?! That alone makes me want to run), blah blah. I reiterate my need to cancel, and also mention that Im not comfortable with their system of pre approved payments etc and she assures me nothing can now be taken from my account. She finally cancels my trial and proceeds to say I have 60 days more free in my account...what? Not thanks I say I don't want anything I want to be completely removed from their system. She assures me my account is now deleted now that I have the cancellation email. OK. But in cancellation email it says I can reactivate..doesnt that mean they still have my info? No , she says, it means I will have to sign up fresh but I can still reactivate.. End of call.

    I refresh Shaw Academy page and see I still am signed in, I have an account and the only thing that has changed is that my trial is cancelled. They still have all my details. She lied..or omitted truths. I call again and get advisor Julie, who says the account will take 5-7 days to delete.

    Since then I also have recieved more texts, emails and calls saying that have said Ive missed my classes or to reschedule..

    I will be coming back here to update after those 5-7 days have passed of my account really has been deleted.

    Places to find reviews of other unhappy customers - check out Quora and the comments on themakemoneyonlineblog article.

    By: Jannah Amin 13-05-2020
    Emily 13-05-2020

    My experience has been exactly the same. I persisted so that I would get to the end of the first module but when it came to take the final assignment it was hidden behind a 'one click purchase' button to get your certificate and I was not prepared to risk paying £40 just to have gotten to the end. I did a course with Shaw Academy three years ago which was far far better than my experience this time, although I do remember they were fairly persistent with emails and texts back then too.

    Helene Bentsen 14-05-2020

    Stop Shaw Academy from financially exploiting people. PLEASE SIGN. I am currently seeking advice on what legal actions to take against the company

    Jojo Daly 17-05-2020

    I am currently drafting out an email to Shaw Academy about a refund in which I accidentally clicked. This is absolutely appalling and terrible business practice.

    Jojo Daly 18-05-2020

    I have read their terms and conditions. They are bullies and scaremongering people with their terms and conditions. I have carried out some research and basically under the consumer protection (distance selling) regulation, regulation 10 we have a right to cancel. They have also failed to comply with consumer protection from unfair trading regulations as they are so aggressive with their business strategy and basically make it impossible to get your money back. I have filled out a form to the Trading Standards. I am contemplating of contacting watch dog and I have sent an email in which I will be pushing legal action if I don’t get my money back. I think everyone who is being scammed should contact trading standards and watch dog to warn people off them. Their business practices are morally wrong on every level.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Website development course

    It is seriously unbelievable the hoops you have to jump through to cancel your subscription with Shaw Academy. First, you have to click through about 5 pages on the website while they try and convince you to stay. Then you need to call a number where an automated voice tries to convince you to stay. You need to listen to about 5 or 6 messages of the AI trying to con you into not cancelling, and after each one you press 2 saying you want to cancel. It takes forever and seriously makes me think this whole business is a scam. The reason I cancelled in the first place is because I don't like how the courses are set up. I like to be able to do online courses at my own pace and when I want, not on a set schedule. That's the whole reason I do online learning.

    By: Kelsie 11-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Trial doesn't let you cancel

    They are not just bad (including the material), they are a fraud. Trying to cancel online, you need to call. Their phone service is closed and the system tells you to email. Automated email response tell you to cancel online. Complete loop.

    By: John Che 08-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    considered a trial - opted out and still charged!!!

    be very aware of the scam and hard sell options... I would refrain from signing up no matter how promising their service and offers seems... it is a hard sell and even when I cancelled my membership/subscription for very good reasons. Including a block from my paypal account. Nevertheless - I have been charged £49.99 and thus far been refused a refund - for a service I did not want and had cancelled; this company is bordering on spam and pisstake and I highly recommend other options of furthering and developing your skill set!

    By: Daniela Fleckenstein 08-05-2020
    Carla 14-05-2020

    I had the same terrible experience with them, they are definitely a scam. I had to cancel my Paypal account, because they charged me £69.99 and they don’t respond to my emails. Today I got an email from them saying that I needed to complete my order of a hard copy of my diploma (that I didn’t even know it was available) for £49.99!! Please AVOID this company.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    You are constantly bombarded with notifications and promotions on every platform (email, push notifications, text messages) several times every day. They make it impossible for you to cancel - first you go through the website and have to click through 3/4 screens of ‘are you sure you want to cancel? Here’s an offer’ so they can finally tell you that you have to call them to cancel. At this point, you have to listen to 6/7 recordings that try to manipulate you to stay with messages like “Don’t give up on your dreams”, “Education is important, invest now”, and promotion after promotion.

    Pathetic. It almost comes across as a scam.

    By: Ceeb 08-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    social media marketing

    No positives! It is a scam company with no integrity! They make it extremely difficult to cancel

    By: jack witts 07-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Digital Marketing course

    I have been EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED with my experience with Shaw Academy.

    The class delivery system is bizarre, I have no idea why you need to schedule your classes as unless you purchase the expensive toolkits in addition to the already pricey fees, the recordings are much better than the (obviously not) 'live' classes as you can pause in order to take notes where required. It seems that the only 'benefit' of the 'live classes' is the chat function, but this only speaks to a bot of no use, not a real teacher.

    I signed up to a free trial for the digital marketing course. Initially this was just something to do in order to pass the time in lockdown, but having completed the first module I was considering completing the other three to finish the whole 'diploma'. Towards the end of module one I received an email prompting me to purchase the e-certificate for Module One. I was not too concerned about having a certificate but the Shaw Academy WILL NOT ALLOW you to access the later courses without purchasing the e-certificate at each earlier stage - RIDICULOUS. This email gave options for discounted memberships which advertised access to as many courses as I liked within the time. Given this was in the e-certificate email, it implied that the extra costs such as e-certificates and possibly toolkits would be included in the cost. HOWEVER, having spent £100 TERRIFYINGLY EASILY with their 'one-click' purchasing, it became immediately obvious that I would still need to pay £40+ per certificate - EXTORTIONATE.

    IMMEDIATELY I emailed support to see if a refund could be arranged given that there was a misunderstanding in the product purchased and that I had not used the additional services yet.

    I received a response that did not really address the issue but did at least inform me that management had credited my account with a toolkit and e-certificates for the modules in order for me to continue.

    THIS WAS A LIE!!! I emailed several times to confirm what was happening a there was no evidence of this credit on my account and have received NO RESPONSE AT ALL!!
    And when I clicked to complete the final assessment for Module 1, I have been charged for the e-certificate that they told me I had already added to my account!!!
    Once again, with the TERRIFYING one-click purchasing that requires no verification or confirmation from you.

    It is DISGUSTING how you ignore customers when you have problems and I have found it IMPOSSIBLE to find a phone number to speak to a human being about my issues.

    Please RESPOND to deal with a VERY UNHAPPY CUSTOMER.

    By: Nicole Smith 05-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    No course

    They are scammers - I don't know who writes these reviews but they must be paying someone. They are thieves. Do not sign up under any circumstances!

    By: Angela Ness 05-05-2020
    Alessandra 17-05-2020

    I also believe they are paying people to post positive reviews. You can tell by the pattern of names and comments.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Nutrition course

    After the month free trial I was fairly happy so allowed the £24.99 for the second month. Everything went downhill then. No access to "live" classes, constantly pushed to buy toolkits and certificates via text, mobile notifications and when logged in. Also scaremongering messages "A recession is coming..." sent daily.
    I contacted SA to feedback and ask for a refund as I can't access the course material. I was told I cant have a refund. I was told my £24.99 purchased a certificate and offered a huge credit of $199 which would be added to my account. However, the credit has not appeared. I clicked to get the certificate I had apparently paid for and was charged Again for it, this time £35.99. I feel like I have been SCAMMED. I've now cancelled payments from my bank and I'm waiting for a response from SA to my email sent 5 days ago.

    By: Sian C 05-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review