AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (568)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    4 lifetime memberships

    Worst investment ever. I have paid for 4 lifetime memberships (gifts for friends), paperwork, certificates and higher qualifications. In October 2019 SHAW changed its policy, and refused to acknowledge any of my subscriptions, demanding more money. Over 1 year of complaining, and not a single resolution.
    Avoid at all costs! The stress is not worth the time or money

    By: Jason Bell16-10-2020
    Larry Smith16-10-2020

    I click on their Google ad several times a day! It costs them probably about a dollar a pop! They ripped me off for about $150.00 I will be sure they pay at least $1,000 in Google ad costs! CLICK THEIR GOOGLE ADS! MAKE THEM PAY!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    membership

    Absolutely avoid like the plague. Disgusting company ethos, after trying to cancel through the website you are prompted to call to confirm - during working hours only of course. The call is automated, and the messages are disgusting. 'if you wish to continue with this unrefusable offer, please press one... if you want to give up on your dreams, press two' - after THREE messages like this, you eventually get to cancel. This is after they try and sell you deals and offers on their products to keep you, whilst emotionally manipulating you into not cancelling out of guilt and shame. Absolutely disgusting tactics I wish you all the failure in the near future.

    By: jenny woodberry15-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Really nothing

    Please, do yourself a big favor and stay away from Shaw Academy. This company tries to trick consumers. I signed up for the free course and paid about CAD$50 for the course materials. About 1 week in the course someone called my phone and talked continuously for like 5 minutes straight. Every time, I said 1 sentence, they talked for 5 minutes: the guy would say something to "respond" to my statement then change the topic back to stuff like "free" and "lifetime access" and "benefits" and "memberships" and repeat it over and over. Then he said they would unlock modules 2, 3, 4 for free for me. I felt strange so I asked again, "Is it true that you will give me access to modules 2, 3, 4 for free?" The guy said, "Yes, they are free for you now."
    But then my card was charged $279.95. I emailed them stating that I never authorized any other payment than the $50 for course materials, and I asked for a refund, because I haven't clicked on the other modules yet. Someone called me and said I would not get my refund because it's their policy, and I have agreed to subscribe to the course. I told him that I only agreed to receive other modules because they offered for free; I never agreed to pay that subscription. He kept saying that I already subscribed to the course so they couldn't do anything. He couldn't even deny the fact that I did not agree to pay for it. Then he said they would give me lifetime access to all their materials and courses on the websites and blab blab blab. I don't need and don't want and am not interested in that stuff.
    It's not the good business that I can try and then get out if I decide that don't want it. Once you give them your payment information, you are doomed. They will try to not leave any proof about their suspicious activities. The only written thing is the free trial. Other offers and promotions and promises, then the charges are said over the phone only and they will talk so fast and repeating words so you will get confused. It could look completely legal and no evidence can be found, but it's a fraudulent and immoral business that tricks people into giving them payment information then take money without permission. Unless you really want to buy the lifetime access, you should not even go to their website. They will find a way to trick you into paying them unknowingly.

    By: Ngoc Phan Anh Nguyen14-10-2020
    Ngoc Phan Anh Nguyen14-10-2020

    My bad, not I will never go to their website again let alone buy anything

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Online courses

    I signed on the free trial for 4 weeks and when I came to the site they charged me 49.99 euros for the course I didn't even chose. I emailed then demanding the refund, but they only offered me extra 6 months free.

    By: Ugnė Bulotaitė11-10-2020
    Valoronie12-10-2020

    I had the same experience. This company totally a scam

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    None

    Was charged for a purchase I did not authorise.

    They do not list the price and do not offer two step confirmation...

    They charge you £50 for digital course materials to your "free" course, enticing you with a simple banner: get your limited offer course materials. No price, no sign of payment.

    Immediately they charge you with the Paypal details you had to give in order to sign up for your free trial.

    This happened two minutes into my free trial. Told them this four minutes into my free trial. Was absolutely refused a refund.

    Crooks!

    By: Emily Atkinson10-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    free subscription

    Its not free. not really. you get hammered by texts, emails, phonecalls all trying to upsell you their products like course booklets and diplomas. And trying to unsubscribe is a near impossibility, meaning once your trial is up, they will automatically start charging you. I know many people who have had money taken out off their credit card/paypal accounts erroneously, 6 months after they'd canceled their courses. They are not interested in education. They are interested in taking as much money from you as possible. Even the courses are pre-recorded so not even worth it. Disgusting business.

    By: Derry 09-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Online courses

    At first, this company seems very convenient and useful. The opportunity to learn "at your own pace", plus with a "free trial" makes the opportunity seem very alluring. The issue starts the moment you sign up to get started. The amount of emails and texts they send is absolutely ridiculous and borderline harassment. This high level of correspondence is off-putting, not encouraging and the wording often tried to induce guilt. For example, when the trial period ended, they sent endless emails starting with "last chance to change your future...". Couldn't even open them because I have anxiety and it added a lot of pressure to something that was supposed to be fun. Also, I don't have much access to a laptop, and although my first lesson went fine and the content was helpful, after a while I had a lot of technical difficulties with the app. The lessons wouldn't load and I was told to "try again later" but this did not help.
    When the trial period was ending, I had received lots of emails talking about an extension of the trial. Because of this, I was in less of a rush to cancel it. Nevertheless I wad charged on the original last day of the trial. If it was extended, shouldn't I have had more time to cancel since the period wasn't actually over yet?? And i did not put in any bank details so I assumed I'd be asked for that before being charged. The company has a lot of information on their website but this only becomes evident when on a desktop. The tiny grey question mark in the account section is not visible on the app so the FAQ section is quite hidden. And in that section, refunds after cancellation is not clarified. I had to search through the refund policy (we all know most people don't read policies from top to bottom until it's necessary), to see that they charge immediately under the guise of "seamless education". A lot of companies offer refunds even after the trial has ended as that is good customer service. They were aware that I had not engaged much with the material and had missed a lot of classes, so why would I been seeking seamless education from them? To cancel the subscription was also a nightmare. After clicking through numerous guilt-trip pages, I finally reached the final page which instructed you to call the "student guidance" to confirm it. The number is useless. I tried many variations and all 3 answers were not shaws academy. I was only able to get the right number by going through the app. The inconsistencies are just awful. They tried to offer me "6 months of free lessons" to appease me despite making it clear i want my money back and I need it for debt repayments. Also, seeing as they'd already charged me £35 through PayPal, it was in no way "free". On top of all of this, I've seen complaints that the qualifications aren't legitimate and the good reviews are extremely bias.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    By: Alexis Adelaja09-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Nothing. they took money without my permission! Avoid Shaw Academy at all cost.

    SHAW ACADEMY SCAMMER. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. DO NOT CLICK ANY BUTTON IN THE EMAIL THEY SENT.

    I Received an email from Shaw academy to re-start the trial course. I accidently clicked the button in the email and then closed the window that popped up straight away. In the email, they mentioned “Once you restart we will send you a confirmation email and you will have a chance to reschedule and get ready for your next lesson”. I never received any email confirming my trial subscription. They then take money out of my account (they stored my payment details when I subscribed for a trial period a year ago) after a month claiming because my free trial has ended.

    I requested a refund as I didn’t subscribe for anything. They insisted I ticked to agree to their terms and conditions and I gave them my payment details. There was no registration page I needed to go through. They refused to refund me and offered me a year subscription for the money they took. I have seen a lot of complaints like mine. They should not get away with this. Please report to them to THE TRADING STANDARDS INSTITUTE (part of Citizen's Advice) and to the ADVERTISING STANDARDS AUTHORITY. (it only takes a few minutes to fill out their online forms and the more people who share their experience, the more likely they will be to take this seriously).

    By: Thi Ri Price07-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Marketing course appears to be a SCAM

    I signed up for the trial of their online classes at the end of March 2020.
    Due to the technical issues with my computer I had to cancel my subscription within trial period. At this point I must mention that the cancellation process is really burdensome. First I was given lots of alternative options and discounts, which all I had to refuse, and then I received a phone number to call. This process was repeated again over the phone conversation. Finally I managed to cancel the subscription, or I was told so. Then after 6 months they charged my debit card for 49,99GBP. I spent enormous time calling them again but they simply stated that my subscription was never closed, it is still active and it is why I am being charged. And they refused any refund.
    Unfortunately I had no confirmation of cancellation, as all this is done over a phone call. This is a SCAM. I do not recommend to anyone.

    By: Jack07-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Scam, scam, scam


    Absolute scam! I only gave them 1 star, as there is no option for 0. They have taken £50 out of my bank account, & are refusing to give it back. Once I told them to just leave me alone & never contact me again, I have been receiving calls, texts, & emails all offering me 'free' services...... I pointed out that I've actually paid £50 for these services, that I don't want, but they still keep coming at me with all these 'goodwill gestures'! AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    By: Sarah07-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    4 week free

    I got charged before the trial ended, then they wouldn't cancel the account and got charged again. I didn't even sign up for it. Someone hacked my emails and signed up for this using my PayPal and such. I just wanted my $70 back and they wanna offer 6months free access forget that. I need that for groceries, why would you offer something that costs more than what I want back?

    By: Brittany Tober06-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Signed-up for a free 4-Week Trial for an Online Course

    II’ve been trying to get my subscription fee refunded from Shaw Academy, but they “insist” that it will not be convenient for me to do so. At least that’s the stance they are taking. Although why they are deciding what’s convenient for me is beyond me.

    I signed up for a free 4-Week Trial for an online course, on August 27, 2020, but I was still charged a premium subscription price of CAD $69.99 without my authorization on Sept 24, 2020 - still within the 4 week trial. I happened not to cancel yet as it is still within the 4-week trial period, but this fraudulent organization still went ahead and charged me. I tried to explain to them the situation via several emails, via phone calls (which you could not get through, by the way) via DMs on their official Twitter account, DMs via their official FB messenger, but no action has been done on my refund and cancellation request.

    I was hospitalized and was in surgery during the “4-week trial period”, so I didn’t get the chance to cancel it during the trial period. On the off-chance that I can appeal to them for compassion and understanding, I explained my situation. It fell on deaf ears. 1 thing is clear: they’re all about making money. Blatantly so.
    They first offered me 6-month free access, then a year, and finally a lifetime membership. They just don’t want to return my hard-earned money.

    That money can help me right now to buy a couple of my prescriptions. Their online training/learning will not.
    And because of their rigid rule on not giving any refund - whatever the circumstances are, it leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Learning from them now sounds awful. It highlights their ineptitude for handling issues. It points to their lack of planning. It shows how much behind they are in terms of having a working system that would cater to real people with real problems.

    Getting my refund has now become a matter of principle.

    Yes, when I signed up for my course, I knew the modules are pre recorded, that there’s just a bot who will miserably fail to answer your questions during a class, but I had hoped behind all that, there are real people who can connect and actually help their students with their issues. Apparently, that is not the case.
    Greatest lesson here is do not get your education from Shaw Academy. You will regret it.

    By: Rogean C03-10-2020
    Szvitlana Vigmond04-10-2020

    I have made a big mistake to have trial for my course, immediately they deducted £49.99 without my permission via PayPal. I just wanted trial period for 4 months and I was so fed up. They advised to have 3 month extension for study but I could have access for lessons at all. 3 times I have tried to take part of class but no lessons , nothing was happened. I think this company is fraudulent and I wanted refund and sent many emails , they did want to give me refund at all.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Course "for free"

    My money 49.99£ was stolen from my account after i cancelled it

    By: Anna E Mieszkalska03-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Graphic design course

    While the course materials are great, their billing policy is quite underhanded. They offer a seemingly free 4-week trial that they still charge you for if you don't cancel it on time. They have a clause in their terms of use that, if cancelled before the due payment date, you won't be charged. I cancelled well before my payment date, but they still charged me for it. If you want affordable online courses to further your education, look elsewhere.

    By: Laura Strode03-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    4 weeks free trial Englich language course

    Hi,

    I would like to describe my experience with Shaw Academy and prevent the people falling victims of scam.

    I subscribed for a 4 weeks free trial on 2 Oct 2020.
    The same day I unsubscribed, canceled my membership and received a mail from them about how they regret my drop-out, but already on 3 Sep 2020, without using no one lesson or material, 69.99 USD were deducted from my bank account.

    I asked about refunding and stopping my membership.
    They refused the refund and offered a 6-months free course as compensation.
    I agreed, thinking this is I that have done something wrong.
    I was assured that there will be no other payments and they offered me to use videos instead to enter the classroom.
    Trying to find out these videos I by mistake clicked on a window for a toolkit and was immediately charged 39.99 USD.

    Once you are in their site, the risk to click on one of the advertising windows (very risky if the screen is small and the computer slow, and also because the site is not understandably designed) and to purchase unwanted services immediately, by 1 or 2 clicks of the mouse.
    There is no warning or back options.

    So - 1-2 clicks are enough to buy, but if you decide to deactivate your account - then around 20 steps are needed.
    You can't even do this yourself like in the normal sites.
    They have a relevant team for this task and the full removing of the personal data will take a couple of weeks.
    I can't be sure whether my personal data will be completely removed.

    I asked them to cite where in their unique rules it is written that the sum for the 4 weeks free trial has to be deducted from your bank account from the beginning, as in my case, but I did not receive an answer.
    And why the so-called toolkit during this period is remunerated during the trial period.
    According to their descriptions the toolkit contains records from the lessons you attend. I haven't participate in no lesson, i.e. the payment is for the air that I respire.

    They have standard answers for everything and are always very sorry about the customer's negative experience with them, and at the same time they continue to steal you, charging you for new and new things.

    Since 3 Sep 2020 I have 38 mails from them, from different persons, always with new proposals, offering you "for free" services you have never meant to participate in.
    And they are never able to refund you.

    I have not counted the telephone calls, many times per day, and not stopping though I was not responding to them. I am afraid that in case of answering them, I could be again charged for something.

    And I could not find telephones for connection in their site, neither below the names of the persons writing the Shaw Academy emails.

    It is especially not honest that the fraud is disguised under the name of "education", and hits people trying to progress or survive by acquiring new skills and knowledge, not by scam and stealing.

    Shaw Academy deserves to be Out-of-Law Academy.

    Avoid to join this site and stay far from fraud.

    By: Emiliya Stancheva02-10-2020
    Emiliya Stancheva02-10-2020

    Sorry about a mistake I see in my review - I subscribed on 2 Sep 2020, not 2 Oct 2020.

    p p09-10-2020

    This is a biggest Scam. The founder looks like smart humble and nice but they are sucking the blood of Normal people. Recently, I paid for lifetime membership but cant get access. I Contacted to them and one of their staff Kevin responsed be back with full of tisted reasons, please be aware these fu...r are blood sucker , they sucking our bolld and sweat. fu..them

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw Academy course access

    DO NOT USE!! They will steal your money, it is never a free trial and they will charge you at the end. Even once you manage to escape after one payment, they have your card details on file and may charge you £90 out of nowhere, fifteen months down the line. The only way you can be free of them is to cancel your entire bank account.

    By: Rebecca Barber29-09-2020
    Barry Moore30-09-2020

    This is a complete scam company! DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM! After signing up for courses, you then notice a button suggesting you purchase "course materials." I clicked on the button, curious what the "course materials" were, expecting there would be a shopping cart & a confirmation button before purchase. BOOM! $49.99 charged on my credit card that I'll never get back. I'm contesting with VISA, but all they have to is say they provided "course materials." End of story, no chance of recovering money likely! One click purchases are HIGHLY UNETHICAL, but not illegal, it seems. TOTAL SCAM COMPANY, DON'T DEAL WITH THEM!

    Barry Moore30-09-2020

    For all of you that have been scammed, I'm recommending that you contact your NATIONAL media! I've already reported the Shaw Academy scam to two different national media organizations, CBC and CTV in Canada. The more complaints that they hear, the greater the chance Shaw Academy will be exposed publicly for the scam that they are! REPORT THEM TO YOUR NATIONAL MEDIA!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    50£

    They say everything its for free after a month they take away from your account 50 £ without letting you know

    By: Gygy Talent29-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Shaw Academy

    Do not buy anything from here. It is a complete scam.

    I am a 16 year old student who has a small paper round once a week and I saw that this site was doing an online law course which I was interested in.

    I click on to use my free trial and i click do not automatically repurchase. Despite this shaw academy have been renewing my course without my knowledge until my most recent bank statement came through leaving me with very little money since they have taken 100 quid out of my account.

    This is a warning to those who are considering taking a shaw academy course. Dont do it.

    By: Tom28-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Mistake!

    Do not download. This is app is like walking through a mine field filled with trip wires blindfolded. You will end up clicking the wrong button and completing a 1-click 40 € purchase which you have no interest in. The scammers at shaw academy offers no refund policy. Have fun.

    By: K28-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    SCAM SCAM SCAM

    Like so many others I was ensnared into their scam.
    They took £49.99 from my account without permission and I am now living a full time battle it seems to get my hard earned money back.

    NO INTEREST IN EDUCATING YOU WHATSOEVER.
    THEY WILL SWINDLE AWAY MONEY FROM YOU EVERY SINGLE SOLITARY CHANCE THEY WILL GET.
    A DISGUSTING GROUP OF GLORIFIED SCAMMERS.

    I wish their company every failure possible.

    PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE.

    By: Tom28-09-2020
    Tom28-09-2020

    They also sent a huge amount of emails and texts throughout the trial and for me to cancel my account I had to go through a 10 minute long automated call

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ