AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (568)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    ''Free'' 4 week trial with a graphic design course

    I saw an advert on Facebook for a free 4 weeks trial course of Graphic Design by Shaw Academy and I decided to enroll to see what it is about - the date was 18/11/20. After that I started receiving constant calls and emails with advertisements about their courses. In one of them a lady called me to see how I was doing and she said a few more things - one of them was to tell me about their Premium Package. During the conversation with her I was constantly saying ''OK'' to confirm I listen and am trying to understand her (she was speaking very fast for me - I'm a foreigner and English is my second language). Later that week, I watched 2 lectures from my course and was thinking I was still in my free trial period, which is 4 weeks (until 18/12/20, I think). On 27/11/20 when I checked my bank account I found out that on 25/11/20 Shaw Academy charged me with the amount of £99.95 (just a week after I enrolled in the 4 weeks free trial period).
    As previously said, I was still in my 1st week (I signed up for a 4 week trial) and £99.95 was withdrawn from my account without my authorization! I contacted them by email, as they don't have a phone number to call and I let them know I don't want to follow their program anymore and would like for them to refund me as they withdrew money without my agreement. On 28/11/20 I received a call from their staff and they tried to convince me that I agreed to buy their Premium membership while I was talking with the lady the other day and that the amount they charged me is not refundable because as a Premium member I can download the study materials. I haven't downloaded any materials, even deleted/unsubscribed from the course to show them I'm not interested and want my money back. The guy on the phone wasn't cooperating at all and refused to refund me - he said that he listened to the recorded voice call with me and the lady, and he heard me agreeing to pay for the Premium membership. I haven't agreed and they haven't asked me clearly whether I want to pay for the Premium membership! I buy stuff online all the time and I always know when I'm buying something and how much I have to pay. For the first time in my life I didn't understand I'm actually buying something, as no terms and conditions was read to me, for example that the money for the Premium membership is not refundable. There was no question like: ''Do you agree to pay for the premium membership'' or something to make me aware I was paying for the classes and materials. Also why doesn't Shaw Academy operate like the other online platforms I have studied from where I personally make a payment on their website and it is clear to both sides what is bought and how much does it cost and what are the conditions for the refund? Why do they need to do it over the phone in such a dishonest way? How many more people have they scammed? Because to me this is a scam!

    By: Asya Atanasova30-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    DESIGNING

    BIG SCAM TO GRAB MONEY. THYE EVEN CALL YOU FOR SIGNING UP AND TAKES MONEY- NOT GIVING OPTIONS TO CANCE.

    STAY AWAY- DO NOT SIGN UP= BIG SCAM

    By: RS29-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "FREE trail SCAM"

    It is a SCAM DO NOT SING UP. they are fully aware that it is a scam and James Egan there CEO is knowingly scaming people. all he speak about is how they did it in wolf of the wall street.

    By: Nikolause29-11-2020
    Sabrin Rahman29-11-2020

    Guys, we really need to do something to get our money back, but what?

    Carol03-12-2020

    I filled an complaint with econsumer.gov/en/FileAComplaint#crnt

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    SHAW IS A SCAM - STAY AWAY!

    They offered a 'free trial'. Nothing came through so I figured this must not have gone through only to find bills coming out EVERY MONTH for £50!! They then told me they would give me a lifetime of free courses and said there would be no refund as I did not cancel my free trial which I had never been informed of...

    Please stay away, I'll have to try to go through the bank to sort this out now.

    By: Stan Tilling28-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Trial

    the WORST WEBSITE EVER! It's just terrible. They keep messaging you like crazy on regular base and this ist just ANNOYING! I hate this site, NEVER EVER MAKE ANY ACCOUNT THERE!!!!

    By: Melisa K.28-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Trial

    BEWARE SCAM! WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!
    They loot money on the name of free trial and free extensions.
    THE CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE IS THE WORST IN THE WORLD.

    I don't recommend this website for learning anything..
    Shaw Academy has worst company policies.

    WASTE OF MONEY!
    Please Don't ever try Shaw Academy.

    WORST ACADEMY.

    By: Akhila27-11-2020
    Valeria28-11-2020

    Hey Akhila, Did you already recived your money from Academy? With Kind regards, Valeria

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free but not so free course

    I tried to do a free course but they charged £99.95 after the very first class trying to sort it now but who know

    By: Eloise27-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Was supposed to be free trial

    I had my first "lesson" on monday, next lesson the day after, and they called me the day after that, Wednesday (yesterday). The called to ask how I am liking the course. I said I think I want to cancel because I dont want to be charged. They assured me I will not be charged if I cancel membership before the free trial period ends, which is 4 weeks, so we were 3 weeks away from it. Then moments after the phone call I got a notification for a unauthorized charge on my credit card!!! Absolute garbage! They will not help or try to fix this! Total scam. Garbage humans.

    By: Mir26-11-2020
    Ndurkfn26-11-2020

    Same thi g happened with me

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    I did not buy anything!

    This is a big scam not an academy!
    I'm so mad at myself that I did not google it before I signed up for a 4 week free trial. They just ignore that you canceled the subscription and charge you - well - they steal from you 100€ just like that!
    Plus - the course was really bad.

    By: Suncana More26-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Certificate subscription

    Shaw academy are extremely unprofessional and I believe it is fair to say, a huge scam. Their customer service is beyond passive aggressive and manipulative to a point where my entire experience with them has been laughable. After realizing their approach was actually a huge scam, I contacted them to cancel my subscription. After jumping through all their hoops and listening to their ridiculous automated phone respones, I finally cancelled my subscription only to then be charged their monthly fee. I would not recommend handing your payment details over to Shaw Academy.

    By: Sarah26-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    No purchase

    Scam! Missinformative procedures on auto

    I clicked on one of their ads, entered my name and numbers for a free trial. When I saw that it wasnt free but would start draw money from my account I cancelled the registration. I Checked my mail to see that I didnt get a confirmation mail, that it really was cancelled. Instead I got a mail which stated "2 more hours to complete registration". So i thought, i was safe. Three months later i see theyve credited my account 3 times for a total of 150 Euro! And soon to be 2 months after contacting them they still haven´t responded. If you for some reason accidently register at their site, but cancel, my advise is to double and tripple check that you`ve cancelled, since they have put it on auto to scam people by missinformative mailconfirmations of registration cancellations thats hasnt been cancelled. For now, I get comfort on filing reports against them, and spreading this information so others don`t get get scammed. Have you been scammed by them? Tell the world!


    They dont give great care to either their product or their customers. They have bad reviews all over the internet, and based on them and my personal experience

    Their modus operandi goes like this;

    They lure you in with so called free-trials. Which they arent, you get billed after 28 days if not cancelled registration. So far basics.

    But In some cases other cooperative sites makes the free-trial ads, getting a percentage on signing, making them set aside basic consumer protection laws, as in non aggressive marketing or confirmation on registration. Which means, based on reviews and personal experience, they withdraw funds from your account until you start arguing with them after noticing unauthorised withdrawls.
    Which lead to second step..

    2) ..also according to reviews and personal experience, they make it hard for you to cancel subscripton or get funds back if wrongfully taken.Sometimes by making you solve issue on paid phonetime (!) but more usually by offering you a lifetime premiership deal. Which could sound fair, but firstly; they make you indirectly purchase a product you havent bought for money they stole from you, and second they set a worth for their lifetime premiership to be as high as the usual monthly fee, stating their product isnt worth much and they care more bout taking monies from you. In one way or another.

    My advise is to stay away if havent dealt with them, report and spread their scaming ways if scammed by them.

    By: MARIUS FADI ALKHATIB25-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Fraud, never deal with them

    If there ever was a negative star rating "Shaw Academy" would definitely get plenty of them.

    On 29th June, I stopped my membership for Shaw Academy and asked the company to remove my credit card details and de-activate my account. Basically, I didn't want any dealings whatsoever with this company ever again. I was offered with their so called "30 days free extension" to which I said "definitely no and never again". Finally, I got an email confirmation that the membership has been cancelled and I was happy not to have to deal with them again.

    Fast forward 4 months and I can see that my card has been charged 2 times (once in September and once in October).

    How did this happen? After talking to them, I understood that, against my will, their customer representative extended by membership for 30 days (free) and there by activating my account again, which meant they could keep charging me their monthly subscription and that's how I got billed for the months of September and October.

    By doing so, they have broken:
    1. Broken GDPR law (going against my will to hold all my personal and credit card details)
    2. Fraud on 2 counts (charged me for 2 months without my consensus)

    My advise to others trying to deal with Shaw Academy is to stay away from them and not deal with them ever.

    Try giving your hard earned money to charity instead or feed the poor people, but please DO NOT have any dealing with this company whatsoever.

    By: Tejas Sankhe24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Course Scam!!

    Shocking Company! They offer free courses online to help you through Covid, but then sneakily take money from your account every month thereafter!

    Stay well clear! Very unethical and dodgy practice!

    Would never, ever recommend to anybody!!!

    By: Ian Disley19-11-2020
    Scammed21-11-2020

    This exact thing has just happened to me. They have taken my last £200 and I cannot do a thing about it.

    Connor Bingham23-11-2020

    Yeah my Granny sent me this as i wanted to do an online course and it said it was a "free course". I trusted it because my granny sent it to me but after not using it for months £50 was taken from my account. I am only 15 and £50 takes me 10 hours to work even though I cancelled they are claiming i still own them but as a "One time exception" and I was a "valued customer" they removed all pending charges. Everyone should report them to stop this "online school" from scamming again! Do not use Shaw Academy complete scam

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Course Subscription

    I signed up, provided credit card details - within a few days i decided that i wasnt getting out of the course what i initially thought i would so i emailed Shaw Academy to cancel my membership/subscription and was told not to worry, the direct debit has been cancelled and will not proceed moving forward. I have an email confirming this from them. Two months later i cancelled my credit card because i closed it off and notice an email from Shaw Academy telling me i have missed a payment. At which point i enquire further and find that they have debited my account 2 x $69. They fraudulantly debited my account. They have not responded to my emails requesting a refund or to explain what they did. Please read the reviews from other people in exactly the same position. DO NOT USE SHAW ACADEMY.. ITS A SCAM!

    By: Daniel19-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Nothing

    Do NOT try the free trial with Shaw Academy!!! I signed up and they ask for your credit card. The only thing I have done since then is download what appeared to be a powerpoint for an upcoming class. The next morning my card was charged 2x for $42.86. There was not any disclaimer that you are purchasing something at the time of download. There is not a confirmation of purchase before you download. Now trying to get a refund and they are trying to offer me 3mos free and saying a refund is not possible. DO NOT USE!!!

    By: Megan Chester17-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    To Court

    Hey people! I was just cheated like everyone else and despite the correspondences with the stupid bots, on the autoresponders, they don't want to return my money. I have such a feeling, except for Mason, no one works there. Only he answers everyone.

    Let's get together and TAKE THEM TO COURT. Let the whole world and mass media pay attention to these scammers. In order to avoid subsequent victims!

    By: Aygun Bayramli17-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Trial

    SCAM, Everything about this place is horrible. Tried the free trial for one day and it was clearly a joke. Very impossible to cancel my subscription.

    By: Nicholas Thomas King Curry16-11-2020
    Aygun Bayramli17-11-2020

    I was also cheated. Let's come together and take them to court. They have to end their activity!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "free trial"

    Like many others, I signed up for their free trial and I was promptly charged for a toolkit which I never opted to purchase. They have so far not responded to any of my emails and I have cancelled my trial but I am seeing many people here still charged even when they cancelled so I am living in fear of my card being charged again. Is there a way to protect myself from this?

    By: John15-11-2020
    Michelle 17-11-2020

    Yes, don't use your card details to pay for things that aren't 100% in your mind. As in, if it's not a regular trusted service provider, then opt to use the other method of payment, PayPal, which offers a very good refund policy should you need to dispute it, and, should you then wish to cancel and are having trouble or, worried they will try to take money from your account, you can go to your PayPal account and remove the authority for Shaw to take money via PayPal. It isn't so easy if you put in a credit or debit card because you're then giving them continuous payment authority and it's harder to cancel and would need doing via your bank

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Scam - charged and I didn't even purchase anything

    Still waiting for Shaw Academy to return my stolen £250. One of their representatives called to say I had won a FREE 12 month membership and later found out they had taken unauthorised transactions from my account. Maybe you should look up what the English dictionary defines as free you absolute scam artists!!! Stop replying to bad reviews pretending that you'll actually do something when you don't. All your good reviews are fake, give me back my money or I'll have no choice but to take you to court. Sickening business model.

    By: VP15-11-2020
    Aygun Bayramli17-11-2020

    Let's take them to court. Enough cheatings!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial course

    COMPLETE AND UTTER SCAM. AVOID!! THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY WITHOUT AUTHORISATION AND WON'T GIVE YOU A REFUND EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE IN THE WRONG. DISGUSTING COMPANY.

    By: Jemma Jones15-11-2020
    Aygun Bayramli17-11-2020

    I was also cheated. Let's get together and take them to court! Enough cheating! Enough victims!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ