AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (568)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    4 Week Free Trail

    Worst online teaching company ever - Don't trust them or ever deal with them.

    5 weeks ago i'd signed for a 4 week trial on a premium membership from Shaw Academy.

    I selected the DB development course, however my scheduled has been very tight and 2 weeks later tried cancelling the membership to avoid any charges and as per their website i had to call their support line.

    When calling the support rep, offered me to renew my trial for another 4 weeks so i could have time to catchup, unfortunately in the second attempt just when accessing y profile a quick popup appeared and disappeared and i was charged...i had not completed the 4 weeks by at least 4 days.

    When getting in touch with them again to get this corrected and get the refund they refused to give any refund as per them it is not possible to do so, i imagine their own payment systems are not ready for such a modern procedure.

    After multiple delayed emails, they take 3 or 4 days to answer they offered me 12 months free membership but all i want is my money back, they have told me someone would call me in 48 hours, it's been 2 weeks nobody calls, nobody answers my emails anymore, clearly this company is a scam that takes the money from people in the more unbelievable way.

    PLEASE don't use their services, DON't ever attempt to learn with them, there are lots of better companies in the market that will save you time and hickups.

    By: Juan C Castillo15-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free Month Trial

    I signed up for a free month trial in late November. After a couple of classes that were pretty good, my next class was nonexistent. When I realized the course wasn't even complete, I lost interest.

    A few days before the end of my trial, I decided to cancel. When I went to the page to do so, they website offered me ONE additional FREE month of membership. Since I was actually interested in the course, I accepted this so I could do a more thorough assessment of the course.

    FOUR days later, they charged me for a month membership at 49.99 EUR.

    I have been fighting with them for three weeks, trying to get a refund for what they said would be a free month, and so far, every customer service person finds some way to avoid the topic or avoid taking responsibility for their horrible system.

    I DO NOT recommend having anything to do with their service.

    By: David Yates14-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Online class

    It was insanely hard to cancel services, I emailed them twice and they said I should call. When I called I needed to argue with the person to cancel my subscription! Through email and on phone they tried to persuade me to stay and give me benefits, bla, bla...horrible experience!! Never again!

    By: Anamarija Novak14-01-2021
    Nikolai14-01-2021

    I signed TODAY for free Trial (4 Weeks for FREE). I got Popup (like One-Click Payment for Module Toolkit) for 39,99 Euro. I pressed buttom X to avoid this Popup, But Payment (PayPal) went through (how they SO tricky code it I don't really know). After reading on the web all this stuff what other users have the same troble and nobody got in such cases money back, I posted my complains everywere. I am going to give similar Feedback an all my phones in all my accounts, at PlayStores, and App Stores. They are coding this Popups so tricky and I find it not good how you deal with us and we have to complain about Shaw Academy. They try to earn your money trough such tricks like One-Click Payments and Popups, instead to provide good service for customers. In a long term their competitors will win upon them. In my Point of view the Page of Shaw Academy is realy bad (at firdt in the mobile phone). Its so difficult to find something on this mobile page. I am not installing the App because people are writting its so hard to get rid of Payments if you have this App (difficult to cancel the contract if you instaled this App). And this petition there (against Shaw Academy) and collecting of signatures against it, is quite good idea and I will surely take a part in it. I know may be I write my feedback to early, but I found no information that they pay money back in such cases. I will not get my money back, but I want give to everybody this information.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    IT'S A SCAM, AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

    They charged me for the free trial and the toolkit, immediately, even though I had zero intention to pay them anything before seeing what it was. Now they helped themselves to ~90 euros from my bank account and PayPal says that it was not unauthorized. I already contacted CCPC and my bank, hoping for the best.

    By: Elizabet Tippan14-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Python free trial course (not so free hidden smth)

    I too got scammed. Hidden sudden costs of 44.99 Euros. Spread the warnings.

    By: Nikolai 14-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    free trial

    SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM

    They its really hard to cancel the free trial, you cant do on your accout, they dont do if you send an email, and the line always drop if you call. i managed to cancel with my paypal account before being charged.

    By: christofori13-01-2021
    Beau X Brennan31-01-2021

    i didn't watch any of the content, and got charged anyway. Not a valid point, but they make it so hard to cancel. 9a-5p est time frame is frankly the most annoying thing you could ever do to someone coming home to find out their account is overdrawn.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial??

    Please be aware with this company and never ever sign up for the free trial as it is a pure scam to take your card details only to be able to charge your card with your "authorization" despite what content you receive from them or that are you happy with that content or not. They WILL charge you even if you cancel the service within the free trial period.

    By: Gergo Kroffinger12-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    One month free trial

    Not even close to a ZERO.
    I signed up for one month free trial and the next morning there was an email marked as important. I clicked on the email which took me straight to their website where the scam began. A few minutes after that £49.99 was taken on my account via PayPal. Tried to cancel the trial with no luck. Then a number and so called student ID popped up on screen as part of the cancellation process. Called the member which was automated almost like speaking to a machine. I screened print everything from the beginning of the trial to cancellation which I sent them to request a refund. I received MULTIPLE PHONE CALLS , WHATSAPP MESSAGE AND PHONE INBOX TELLING ME THAT I HAVE A CLASS TO ATTEND. When they eventually tried to respond to my email, they try to use reverse psychology , manipulative and passive aggressive tone of words to make you feel like it's your fault. They refused to refund me back the money insisting that I bought a toolkit which am not even aware of and not downloaded anything on their website. I hadn't even thought of what course I would take on the trial at this moment. This SCAM needs to be put to an end . Things are bad for people as it is given the pandemic. I don't normally write reviews but i thought I should raise an awareness of this unethical business to those who are vulnerable and can't afford funds to be taken out of their accounts like that. Read the review below which broke my heart about someone who was scamed by Shaw Acadamy to a point where they took all the money in the account sports and left with no money to pay rent or food. I can only imagine the impact on that on this person physical and mental wellbeing. Why is this organisation still running ? DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS ORGANISATION. Visit the citizens advice bureau for procedures of making a formal complaint

    By: Toukie Mortimer09-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    scam

    scam. dont sign up. there is no free trial

    By: oli08-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Marketing

    Negative There have got a lot of hidden charges and obviously scammers please don’t trust them

    By: Otabek Usmonov 08-01-2021
    Jinhee Kim08-01-2021

    I have sent so many emails asking cancle and refund, as soon as I realized they charged me, but Shaw Academy has not answered yet. Shaw Academy is just waiting for victims to give up. I found regulations all customers have 14 days to ask cancel and refund of digital service. Although I have a right, it doesn't matter for them. They are just ignoring and giving no answer.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Don’t trust them

    They are terrible. I was scammed and had to get in touch with my bank to cancel my bank card. They take money out of my account and don’t give refunds. They won’t let you cancel during the four week trial, even though it says you can cancel anytime. It’s also impossible to cancel with them.

    By: Chloe 07-01-2021
    Chris13-01-2021

    How did you cancel?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Hard Copy Diploma

    Extremely disappointed!!! Just tried to check, what does it mean to get hard copy diploma and within one click they charged my paypal for 80 EUR!!! Now they don't respect my rights to cancel order and don't want to refund money. Fraudsters!

    By: Maris06-01-2021
    Marva Mohseni 07-01-2021

    The exact same thing happened to me, IT IS SCAM

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Courses

    Tried to cancel. They won't let me. Worst service ever.

    By: Pam06-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Social Media online course -Free Trial

    This seem to be scam - they charge your credit card 0.30 pence but apparently months later even if you cancel your free trial they try to collect more money from your credit card.

    By: Hue05-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Unknown

    Total scam and fraud

    By: Blessy James 03-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Photography course

    Please Do NOT use - Scam! :-(
    Hope this post finds some people before signing up to this awful "company"
    My partner recently signed me up to do the free trial Photography course. I signed up and set my self an alarm to cancel by 21st Jan if I didn't want to continue. I must be honest, I was starting to enjoy my course when it all went wrong. I was exploring the webpage when I was charged for a toolkit that I didn't sign up to. I didn't have the funds so managed to E-mail and say stop charging for something I didn't purchase. I then had a phone call asking if I wanted a free membership and was it ok to E-mail me. The man on the phone kept asking was it ok to E-mail - to which I said an yes. Following that call ive been charged £200, The company refuse to give this money back. I have E-mailed and just been on the phone with someone called Micheal. He refused to give my money back. His reason being that on the 30th December I clicked on a membership on the Shaw academy web page - I wasn't online on the 30th due to being in work. I have also pulled up my search history to ensure I was correct. Micheal made no sense about timelines and supposed purchases I had done. I have recorded both phone calls that I received from Shaw academy and its actually ridiculous. I am so upset, as is my partner who did this as part of my Xmas present. Money is not easy for anyone due to Covid and I fell so robbed and upset.

    By: susie nee02-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    A free trial

    DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY.

    If I could give them zero stars I would. They get you to sign up to a free trial then without any kind of sufficient written warning the put you on the most expensive plan and charge you. They make it extremely difficult to cancel your account and keep asking you to pause it in the hope they can CATCH YOU OUT and TAKE YOUR MONEY again. After I paused mine enough times and finally went to get to the last screen to cancel (which I have now found out would've only contained a number to call, where you wait to speak to an operator, after finally jumping through all the hoops a few days ago) they offered me a free trial then CHARGED ME WHILST I WAS ON A FREE TRIAL which I only took because I was tired of clicking through screens! When contacted about this issue I was told the operator couldn't do anything about it and that I had to email billings. I had to get her to repeat herself because the phone line was so quiet! Billings has not got back to me however I have received an email saying that my "request" has been closed with no mention of my dispute over the £49.99 they took from me at all. They've just finally cancelled my account. I will be disputing further.

    PLEASE FOR YOUR OWN SAKE DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR BANK DETAILS.

    By: Eleanor Labrow01-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Cooking course

    Terrible, they make it extremely hard to cancel and keep calling you. I cancelled during my free trial and they still took money out of my account! DO NOT SIGN UP, SCAM!

    By: Desi Aleksieva31-12-2020
    Erin31-12-2020

    Do Not sign up! They will steal your money!

    Anabelle03-01-2021

    I signed up for free trials for a 4 weeks course and its says i can cancelled by Jan.29 , before i start my course for bookkeeping and accounting they charged me for 69.99 for a monthly subscription and a toolkit materials..email them they said i didn't cancelled before the deadline..its a scam.Please don't sign up.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Sound engineering course. They charged £50 without authorisation

    Their advertisement said its a free course and they would only start charging after 4 weeks. When I clicked the link to get the material, they charged me with £49.99 immediately without asking me. I never authorised this transaction. This is a scam company.

    By: Tamás Fodor30-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Unauthorized purchase

    Within 12 hours from my subscription, after a blank web page, I received the confirmation of a purchase for a certificate! They refuse to refund the money and say that I clicked on an (INVISIBLE) button. STAY AWAY

    By: Maria30-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ