AllReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (482)

    2.2
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.2
    Service
    rating
    2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!"

    Free Trial

    I signed up for a free trial and in a few days they charged me a 3-month membership for $139. I immediately requested a refund. They replied me a couple of useless emails and requested me to answer their call. They said they'd call in 48 hours, but it's been more than 100 hours and no further information was given to me.
    I then tried to log in to my account and they have deleted my account completely.
    I am very unhappy about this situation and I will keep request the refund until I see the money sitting in my bank account.

    By: Stefani Lin09-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial and 1-click unauthorised payments!!

    SCAMMERS - DO NOT CLICK ON ANY LINKS OR BUTTONS, CANCEL YOUR FREE TRIAL NOW - CONTACT YOUR BANK OR LET PAYPAL KNOW TO STOP/BLOCK ANY PAYMENTS!

    Signed up for a free trial (should have read the thousands of bad reviews before) and received so many pop-ups which are one-click payments for 'toolkits' and 'certificates'. Accidently clicked a wrong button and was immediately charged for a toolkit I had NO INTENTIONS to purchase. There was no confirmation page, no option to even review whatever it was I supposedly purchased, no email, no receipt or invoice. I only found out because I checked my bank statements. They have effectively STOLEN from me.

    I emailed them 3 times to ask for a refund, explained my situation and was refused a refund. Instead, they offered to further the trial and let me have free toolkits and certificates etc. Told them no, I wanted a refund and I am still waiting to hear back!

    Also cancelled my free trial and was taken through multiple pages before finding out I have to call a number to cancel. I called them 4 times and no one answered the phone, instead I got an automated recording saying they were closed (bear in mind, this was on a Monday between 11am and 12pm which was well within standard office working hours). So I emailed them twice requesting for an immediate cancellation and received a reply saying I have to call them to cancel and was given the same number that I called earlier!

    Called again the next day and got through to an automated recording where you have to sit through long recordings of how good they are and how they're helping you reach your study goals. And finally I was given the option to press a number to cancel which I did. Immediately, I received an email that my subscription is 'cancelled' with an offer of two months free of charge (NO THANK YOU!!). I logged in to check my status and it says it's only SCHEDULED TO CANCEL (till when? I wanted an IMMEDIATE CANCELLATION) and now having read all the reviews, I am worried that they will deduct money again from my account without my authorisation. I will contact my bank to inform them of the SCAM ACADEMY and will cancel my card for piece of mind.

    By: Grace08-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Tried free subscription but got scammed

    It's a total waste of time. Neither the courses are good or the content, no value.

    Top of it I was scammed, was offered for few trail but once you enter your card details they will continue to charge your card for month even upon cancellation within trail end, pathetic customer service who will never give a reason why they can't refund. Plz plz avoid & save yourself from this scam.

    By: Chandra Muralidhar06-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Dog Grooming

    This is a SCAM artist. Do not sign up!! There is NOT a free trial. This company will charge you no matter what and you wont be able to cancel your membership. Read the article from the Guardian, They expose the unethical behaviour of this company. Do not trust them at all.

    By: Nelson Dominguez06-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    4 week trial

    My story is similar to others here on this site. I reported them to an official agency called econsumer.gov/en/FileAComplaint#crnt
    It will hopefully eventually make them stop this scam.

    By: Carol03-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial thats not so free.

    HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. JUST DON'T DO IT GUYS!!

    I found these guys through an advertisement on Facebook. It seemed interesting and decided to give it a go. BIG, BIG MISTAKE.

    They were blowing up my phone will messages several times a day. That was with notifications, marketing materials and other irrelevant crap.

    Had phone calls from them going well and truly into the night. I believe that latest one I got was 1am, rest assured I told them off. Now, there was also a call I got from them about 3 weeks into the thing, the guy was stating they were upgrading the account to the best package with all these certifications and other crap that I never wanted nor asked for. Had to make it VERY CLEAR, that I DID NOT want that crap. Though, they kept trying to up-sell it.

    If you've made it this far into my review, the worst is about to come. YOU CAN NOT CANCEL. That's right, you can not cancel once you have signed up. They have the option to cancel in their online portal, HOWEVER, it leads you in a loop. 5 steps of "I want to leave" and "please cancel", then the last option is "sorry we are unable to cancel. You need to contact our team on ___________." I tried doing that, calling the number and they didn't want me to leave, instead they tried to offer me extra packages, deals and other garbage. They do NOT seems to understand the words CANCEL and NOT INTERESTED.

    A truly horrible experience. DO NOT DO IT.

    By: ALPHA T3CH02-12-2020
    Hannah02-12-2020

    Signed up for the free trial and tried cancelling the following week. Thought everything was done and dusted until they took £49.95 sometime later. Emailed them and was told they couldn’t give a refund and instead offered me a further 6 months free, telling me it was worth £300. I told them I didn’t want it and just wanted the refund but they refused. Why give someone £300 worth of a product and refuse them a refund request of £49.95? Probably because what they’re offering is useless crap and what they received is real hard earnt money. I will now cancel my debit card as I don’t trust neither them or my bank. Why are scam companies able to operate like this and get away with it. STAY AWAY from them at all costs and especially be wary about entering card details in their site.

    Sumita Saha04-12-2020

    Did bank refunded ur money?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE CHARGED AND SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY! They seem to offer a free trial and then start to take money from your account unauthorised! And after disputing with them through email they will ignore everything you've said and continue telling you that your are welcome to enjoy your course, a course you didn't sign up for! This company is a disgrace! They just want to steal your money!

    By: Kay02-12-2020
    ALPHA T3CH02-12-2020

    HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. JUST DON'T DO IT GUYS!! I found these guys through an advertisement on Facebook. It seemed interesting and decided to give it a go. BIG, BIG MISTAKE. They were blowing up my phone will messages several times a day. That was with notifications, marketing materials and other irrelevant crap. Had phone calls from them going well and truly into the night. I believe that latest one I got was 1am, rest assured I told them off. Now, there was also a call I got from them about 3 weeks into the thing, the guy was stating they were upgrading the account to the best package with all these certifications and other crap that I never wanted nor asked for. Had to make it VERY CLEAR, that I DID NOT want that crap. Though, they kept trying to up-sell it. If you've made it this far into my review, the worst is about to come. YOU CAN NOT CANCEL. That's right, you can not cancel once you have signed up. They have the option to cancel in their online portal, HOWEVER, it leads you in a loop. 5 steps of "I want to leave" and "please cancel", then the last option is "sorry we are unable to cancel. You need to contact our team on ___________." I tried doing that, calling the number and they didn't want me to leave, instead they tried to offer me extra packages, deals and other garbage. They do NOT seems to understand the words CANCEL and NOT INTERESTED. A truly horrible experience. DO NOT DO IT.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Free Trial course- 1 Month

    I signed up with Shaw academy for 1 month free trial. Now they define 1 Month as 28 days and hence I was charged next month's membership fees on 28th day of free trial. I cancelled the membership on the same day this happened.

    I requested a refund as I did not wanted to use the service. They said they won't do a single dollar of refund. Instead they force fed the service to me.

    I am dealing with them since more than a month now. No resolution have been given by them. They have very non cooperative customer service and they don't have any toll free customer service number customers can contact through. That tells something (online servicing company NOT having customer service number). Their sales team called me 3 times, emailed and text me 9 times in total for promotions.

    I asked them to send me an agreement document i accepted. They said they can NOT send it. Now I am not sure why??? Once they have people's money, they go rougue.

    There are thousands of victims like me on the internet who needs to be heard. Shaw Academy needs to be brought to justice.

    They have millions of dollars of people's money that customer did not wished to pay because they were not willing to use the service anymore.

    By: Jay Mungra02-12-2020
    nour11-12-2020

    They are absolute scammers they took money without me approving and when I wanted to cancel my subscription before my free one finished they gave another month for free and after that took 100 pounds from my account. They put me in an incredibly difficult situation now I can't pay rent for the next two weeks!!!! Absolute disaster ! fake and ignorant they claim that they care about students but they don't I am so angry and pissed I will let all my friends unsubscribe I wish I could sue them as well!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw academy certificate

    First, I bought my certificate with a discount, but no certificate was received!
    The same day, I accidentally pressed the button to buy another certificate, and with no confirmation, additional 39,99$ got charged for me. And again, even though I paid TWICE I didn’t NOT receive my certificates.

    Today, they charged me 39$ again, and I don’t even know what for, because my membership is canceled and I didn’t buy anything.

    I also was trying to contact them for more than one month, but nobody ever answered me.
    I am very disappointed with your services and want full account cancellation and my money back (which is alreeády 100$!).

    By: veronika bikovska01-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Fashion Course

    Avoid at all costs..
    I accidentally opened 2 accounts. I got called by someone from Shaw Academy and they confirmed that my accounts would not renew. Low and behold I got charged £50 for one of them. I never attended any lesson and they are not giving me a refund because of T&C's. I feel this is very unfair. Avoid Shaw Academy, they only want your money and don't care about their customers. They have automated robots call you for reminders and call centres in who knows where ringing you about missing lessons. Poor company, poor practices. Avoid.

    By: Simon c01-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Scam company

    Scam company, DO NOT, subscribe to their free courses, and especially do not use your credit card, to stop them from debiting it you will have to cancel your credit card.

    By: Haresh Menon01-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    free trial

    They are fraud in real I am filing a police complaint against them. They are stealing my money. Dont Dont create account with them.

    By: Manju Parmar01-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Project Managment

    Shaw Academy is the Largest online Scam on the planet. You sign up for a free trial and are unable to cancel. You have to call a paid number to cancel and even after calling they do not cancel. This must be illegal and is surely unethical. Pure Scam Artists! Stay away from using this school.

    By: DBarry01-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    ''Free'' 4 week trial with a graphic design course

    I saw an advert on Facebook for a free 4 weeks trial course of Graphic Design by Shaw Academy and I decided to enroll to see what it is about - the date was 18/11/20. After that I started receiving constant calls and emails with advertisements about their courses. In one of them a lady called me to see how I was doing and she said a few more things - one of them was to tell me about their Premium Package. During the conversation with her I was constantly saying ''OK'' to confirm I listen and am trying to understand her (she was speaking very fast for me - I'm a foreigner and English is my second language). Later that week, I watched 2 lectures from my course and was thinking I was still in my free trial period, which is 4 weeks (until 18/12/20, I think). On 27/11/20 when I checked my bank account I found out that on 25/11/20 Shaw Academy charged me with the amount of £99.95 (just a week after I enrolled in the 4 weeks free trial period).
    As previously said, I was still in my 1st week (I signed up for a 4 week trial) and £99.95 was withdrawn from my account without my authorization! I contacted them by email, as they don't have a phone number to call and I let them know I don't want to follow their program anymore and would like for them to refund me as they withdrew money without my agreement. On 28/11/20 I received a call from their staff and they tried to convince me that I agreed to buy their Premium membership while I was talking with the lady the other day and that the amount they charged me is not refundable because as a Premium member I can download the study materials. I haven't downloaded any materials, even deleted/unsubscribed from the course to show them I'm not interested and want my money back. The guy on the phone wasn't cooperating at all and refused to refund me - he said that he listened to the recorded voice call with me and the lady, and he heard me agreeing to pay for the Premium membership. I haven't agreed and they haven't asked me clearly whether I want to pay for the Premium membership! I buy stuff online all the time and I always know when I'm buying something and how much I have to pay. For the first time in my life I didn't understand I'm actually buying something, as no terms and conditions was read to me, for example that the money for the Premium membership is not refundable. There was no question like: ''Do you agree to pay for the premium membership'' or something to make me aware I was paying for the classes and materials. Also why doesn't Shaw Academy operate like the other online platforms I have studied from where I personally make a payment on their website and it is clear to both sides what is bought and how much does it cost and what are the conditions for the refund? Why do they need to do it over the phone in such a dishonest way? How many more people have they scammed? Because to me this is a scam!

    By: Asya Atanasova30-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    DESIGNING

    BIG SCAM TO GRAB MONEY. THYE EVEN CALL YOU FOR SIGNING UP AND TAKES MONEY- NOT GIVING OPTIONS TO CANCE.

    STAY AWAY- DO NOT SIGN UP= BIG SCAM

    By: RS29-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "FREE trail SCAM"

    It is a SCAM DO NOT SING UP. they are fully aware that it is a scam and James Egan there CEO is knowingly scaming people. all he speak about is how they did it in wolf of the wall street.

    By: Nikolause29-11-2020
    Sabrin Rahman29-11-2020

    Guys, we really need to do something to get our money back, but what?

    Carol03-12-2020

    I filled an complaint with econsumer.gov/en/FileAComplaint#crnt

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    SHAW IS A SCAM - STAY AWAY!

    They offered a 'free trial'. Nothing came through so I figured this must not have gone through only to find bills coming out EVERY MONTH for £50!! They then told me they would give me a lifetime of free courses and said there would be no refund as I did not cancel my free trial which I had never been informed of...

    Please stay away, I'll have to try to go through the bank to sort this out now.

    By: Stan Tilling28-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Trial

    the WORST WEBSITE EVER! It's just terrible. They keep messaging you like crazy on regular base and this ist just ANNOYING! I hate this site, NEVER EVER MAKE ANY ACCOUNT THERE!!!!

    By: Melisa K.28-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Trial

    BEWARE SCAM! WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!
    They loot money on the name of free trial and free extensions.
    THE CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE IS THE WORST IN THE WORLD.

    I don't recommend this website for learning anything..
    Shaw Academy has worst company policies.

    WASTE OF MONEY!
    Please Don't ever try Shaw Academy.

    WORST ACADEMY.

    By: Akhila27-11-2020
    Valeria28-11-2020

    Hey Akhila, Did you already recived your money from Academy? With Kind regards, Valeria

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free but not so free course

    I tried to do a free course but they charged £99.95 after the very first class trying to sort it now but who know

    By: Eloise27-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ